How to configure to record to a pc

nambi

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I have a 6 cam system, my nvr is a PC I'm on a domain

total newbie here so I'm nto sure how to set this up, no SD cards in the cams, my plan was to record to a PC.

Do I configure the recording on the actual CAM menu itself or do I program the IVMS4200 to record? When I try remote payback I get an error (no file) so I'm assuming I have to setup up the recording in the cam itself which I can ONLY do if I log into the cam via IP webbrowser.

now this is wher Im even more confused. I shared a path on the network, to "everyone" (i don't like this) and then logged into the cam and found this path. tried to record and it failed (must be a permissions issue) I then logged into the cam and pointed it to the local pc I was logging in with and it records, I switched it back to my shared folder and failed. I then logged into the SAME cam with a different PC and the path to record was default? I thought when I saved this path it would be save on the cam itself.

Maybe I'm not even setting this up on the right area, any advice would be helpful.

If I were to record on the PC with the IVMS4200 why doesn't it automatically record, I setup all the parameters yet I still have to manually click on the record button.

If I have to set this up on the cam itself. where would I put in the username and pass in the cam to record onto the proper share?

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
Let's see if I can provide some pointers.
Though we don't know what firmware version you are using. This area varies somewhat with that.

You can either / or both record from a dedicated NVR or an NVR application such as IVMS-4200, which connects to the camera and pulls a video stream, or from the camera itself which can connect to a file share and push video data to a file.
Do you have the IVMS-4200 user manual? If not - download it. It will answer many questions, such as: