How to run ethernet cable through exterior wall?

Reaction score
I'm new to the world of IP cameras, but I have a IPC-T5442T-ZE camera that I got working (inside the house) with my POE hub and its video feed is showing up in Blue Iris. Now I want to move the camera outside so I can try it in different locations, but to do that I need to figure out how to run an ethernet cable from inside my house to outside with messing up the weather proofing or causing some kind of leak. I couldn't find any material about this on the wiki. Can anyone point me to some good references or tutorials? Should I hire a pro?

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I'm new to the world of IP cameras, but I have a IPC-T5442T-ZE camera that I got working (inside the house) with my POE hub and its video feed is showing up in Blue Iris. Now I want to move the camera outside so I can try it in different locations, but to do that I need to figure out how to run an ethernet cable from inside my house to outside with messing up the weather proofing or causing some kind of leak. I couldn't find any material about this on the wiki. Can anyone point me to some good references or tutorials? Should I hire a pro?
HI GoldLeader

Various ways to do this, and various different ways homes are constructed.

While testing you can just run the ethernet cable from under most garage doors ( typically they have a weather seal on the bottom ) .. just tape the cat5e/5 cable down on the ground where the door hits the ground ( if the door closes down .. if side closing you may need to try it a bit different )

Once you know where you want to place the camera(s) you can look at how to run the cables to that location.

hint: I like junction boxes ..

Sphinxicus

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
I have no idea how houses are constructed in California so take what you want from this. I am certainly no expert.