IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

I made a better remote-live-view page [OLD]

cbass

n3wb
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Yep that was it. Well not exactly but I had to select the secure only checkbox. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
 

Dc4

n3wb
Joined
Jan 22, 2016
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Quick question that's probably been covered but I can't find it.... how do I control the number of cameras/rows that display in BI2? I have 12 cams, and BI2 shows 3 rows of 4 cams. I would prefer 4 rows of 3 cams.

Maybe it's not possible? Thanks guys.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,121
Reaction score
6,329
Location
USA
Assuming you mean "UI2" and not "BI2" ...

Change the frame size of the affected group views to something taller, but less wide, here:



1920 x 1080 is width x height. I suggest you start with something square, like "1080 x 1080" and adjust from there until the cameras fill the frame a way you like.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2015
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Combined views

I have a question. I'm not sure if this could be done, but could there ever be a way to combine views of cameras from two different servers? I know that currently there is a way to manage different servers from one ui2 instance, but I have some special situations that it would be great if I could, say for instance, have a view that combined 3 cameras from one server with 3 cameras from another server. Currently I have to stream extra instances of the cameras from one server to another to include in my viewing group. It would be great to be able to eliminate this bandwidth overhead. It was just a thought. Like I said, I'm not even sure if something like that would be possible. :cool:
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,121
Reaction score
6,329
Location
USA
Re: Combined views

I have a question. I'm not sure if this could be done, but could there ever be a way to combine views of cameras from two different servers? I know that currently there is a way to manage different servers from one ui2 instance, but I have some special situations that it would be great if I could, say for instance, have a view that combined 3 cameras from one server with 3 cameras from another server. Currently I have to stream extra instances of the cameras from one server to another to include in my viewing group. It would be great to be able to eliminate this bandwidth overhead. It was just a thought. Like I said, I'm not even sure if something like that would be possible. :cool:
It would be possible, yes, but very complicated. I have no plans to attempt it. You'll have to make do with two separate browser windows.
 

gleep52

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 8, 2014
Messages
71
Reaction score
3
Hi BP - We have hundreds of thousands of clips on one of our servers - the list takes a very long time to load, and while it is processing, all of the cameras freeze video while the clips lists loads. That means any other users who are viewing video get a frozen screen of cameras while the clips load for another user. Is this normal? Is there a way to improve performance with this?

Thanks!
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,121
Reaction score
6,329
Location
USA
If your clip database is stored on a mechanical hard drive then you could try moving it to an SSD. Otherwise your best chance of improving performance is to delete most of the clips and do something to combine clips in the future to reduce their number.

Blue Iris doesn't handle extremely large numbers of clips very well.
 

gleep52

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 8, 2014
Messages
71
Reaction score
3
Does the UI2 clip list show just the clips in the "new" folder, and not the "stored" folder path? I think that might be the easy fix if that is the case - right now we have them all writing into the "new" folder which is overwhelming I think. Separate question: There isn't a way to implement a time scrubber in UI2 is there?
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,121
Reaction score
6,329
Location
USA
Does the UI2 clip list show just the clips in the "new" folder, and not the "stored" folder path?
UI2 doesn't have any choice in the matter. UI2 can request a specific date range or camera/group, but not a folder. By default, you just get the 1000 most recent clips. 1000 being the most that Blue Iris will list out at one time.

If Blue Iris takes ages to build that list and hangs while it is being built, there is nothing I can do about it. :(

Separate question: There isn't a way to implement a time scrubber in UI2 is there?
Depends on what you are talking about. Can you elaborate?
 

gleep52

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 8, 2014
Messages
71
Reaction score
3
Well right now there is a date search field - but what about an hour/minute search field? For example, we know an incident occurred at 12:45pm today, so we want to go straight to that time or at least to the clip containing that time period. I don't see a way to do that in UI2 and it's probably a limitation to how clips are stored. We are not using direct to disk writing because we don't want to lose the date timestamp... that's the only way we can identify what time it is. Or am I missing something?

In the admin console of Blue Iris there's a time scrubber and multicamera playback which helps identify what time it is, etc...

- - - Updated - - -

Also - is there a way to make the clip list LESS than 1000? Say limit it to 100 instead?
 

gleep52

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 8, 2014
Messages
71
Reaction score
3
Hi Bob, yes I see a scrubber - but I meant a scrubber that illustrated what time the clip was being recorded/played back at. So if it was 3:05pm in the clip, I was wondering if there was a way the scrubber could show that or have a search/goto box to take me directly to that time of the recording.
 

piconut

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
116
Reaction score
23
We are not using direct to disk writing because we don't want to lose the date timestamp... that's the only way we can identify what time it is. Or am I missing something?
You can always insert the date and time from the camera's settings and then you can record direct to disk. That way, you get the speed of direct to disk and you still get the date and time on your video.
 

bob2701

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
798
Reaction score
172
Location
Jersey Shore
Hi Bob, yes I see a scrubber - but I meant a scrubber that illustrated what time the clip was being recorded/played back at. So if it was 3:05pm in the clip, I was wondering if there was a way the scrubber could show that or have a search/goto box to take me directly to that time of the recording.
I came in on the tail end of this and posted before reading the other posts so I deleted my post. If you have the time displayed it will show when using the scrubber.
 

gleep52

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 8, 2014
Messages
71
Reaction score
3
You can always insert the date and time from the camera's settings and then you can record direct to disk. That way, you get the speed of direct to disk and you still get the date and time on your video.
Is D2D that much faster? Is it just overlays that don't work? We're in the process of setting up our org with 160 cameras and 6 blue iris servers right now - trying to find the best way to do it all...

Some of our cameras are VERY old and might not even have a legible way to see the time date, but I'm considering it if D2D is really an improvement.

But a scrubber with timestamp would be easiest on our staff who need access to all these cameras, especially multicamera playback like the native app has.

- - - Updated - - -

I came in on the tail end of this and posted before reading the other posts so I deleted my post. If you have the time displayed it will show when using the scrubber.
No problem Bob - thanks for chiming in - I love this active community!
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,121
Reaction score
6,329
Location
USA
Well right now there is a date search field - but what about an hour/minute search field? For example, we know an incident occurred at 12:45pm today, so we want to go straight to that time or at least to the clip containing that time period. I don't see a way to do that in UI2 and it's probably a limitation to how clips are stored. We are not using direct to disk writing because we don't want to lose the date timestamp... that's the only way we can identify what time it is. Or am I missing something?
Yes, as others have said, you can have the camera embed the timestamp in its video stream and then use direct to disk. You can then delete the timestamp that Blue Iris adds.

In the admin console of Blue Iris there's a time scrubber and multicamera playback which helps identify what time it is, etc...
This is the "timeline" and UI2 does not have one.

Also - is there a way to make the clip list LESS than 1000? Say limit it to 100 instead?
You can't limit by a specific number of clips. The best you can do is open the calendar filter and select the day your clip belongs in; that will load the entire day's worth of clips even if there are more than 1000 clips. I may eventually add more precise filtering (such as hourly) but currently that is not a priority for me.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,121
Reaction score
6,329
Location
USA
Is D2D that much faster? Is it just overlays that don't work? We're in the process of setting up our org with 160 cameras and 6 blue iris servers right now - trying to find the best way to do it all...
Some of our cameras are VERY old and might not even have a legible way to see the time date, but I'm considering it if D2D is really an improvement.
There are a few things to consider... first, obviously the camera needs to be able to print the date legibly on the video. Second, it needs to be able to keep accurate time. That means being able to follow all the local daylight savings time rules and updating its own clock using an NTP server. I suggest you install http://timesynctool.com/ on each Blue Iris machine. Not only does it do a way better job of keeping the PC's time in sync than Windows does natively, but it will host an NTP server for you so you can point all your cameras at it.

But a scrubber with timestamp would be easiest on our staff who need access to all these cameras, especially multicamera playback like the native app has.
This is something I have tried to discuss with Ken, as I am working on a new web UI for Blue Iris, but he has been so busy he has hardly provided any input at all on the project, so I don't know if multi camera playback will be a thing. A timeline may very well be a thing we can do though!
 

bob2701

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
798
Reaction score
172
Location
Jersey Shore
@gleep52, You can always use the start time compared to the lapsed time to get in the ballpark with the scrubber. As you can see below the clip started at 8AM and the elapsed time says 2:05 so it matches the displayed time of 10:05AM.

aaa.JPG
 
Last edited by a moderator:

gleep52

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 8, 2014
Messages
71
Reaction score
3
@gleep52, You can always use the start time compared to the lapsed time to get in the ballpark with the scrubber. As you can see below the clip started at 8AM and the elapsed time says 2:05 so it matches the displayed time of 10:05AM.

View attachment 13480
We have BI set to create a new clip on each event so we can FF directly to the next motion event. So our clips start at really wonky times and the adjustment mathematics would probably be too much for some of our staff to care ;) But yes, I did see that and realize that's an option - thanks for pointing it out though.
 

gleep52

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 8, 2014
Messages
71
Reaction score
3
OK so I went into Blue Iris, picked a cam, properties -> record -> Format and compression -> Direct to Disc

Is this the only setting I need to change? I ask because my overlay of date and time is still there?
 
Top