ideas for a reliable security camera system

surveillancelot

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi guys!

Even though I have several years of experience looking for a good surveillance system, this is still kind of a newbie question, since I'm not an expert in any aspect. So could I get your ideas what kind of system you would recommend for me?

I have a warehouse/garage that is used by a few other persons as well. We have had robbers every now and then. Our alarm system is working pretty well, and because of that we haven't been focusing on cameras anymore so much, even though it would be wise. The garage is for our hobbies, so we are basically quite low budget (but if we find a good system, i think we could reconsider)

We have had several problems with cameras, it went pretty much like this:

First we had some old computer and a webcam. It used motion detection feature. it took snapshots when it saw movement. Poor quality pictures, was able to take about 1-3 pictures of a person walking by. 99,9% pictures were unnecessary (irrelevant movement, like trees and shadows). By adjusting this we were able to cut down the amount to 99,5%. A lot of work for one person to maintain. The computer was also crashing when it was not used.

Then we tried a better computer with video card and "normal" security cameras. We tried several software. Those were quite hard on the computer, it was crashing, running out of memory. This also required a lot of work for one person, even though the picture/video quality was good. At this point we realized that computer based systems suck in our case.

Then we had IP cameras for a while (foscam). After really hard configuration I was able to get it working, for a while. We can't have cable internet at the garage, just a 3G. The system was barely working (internet was a big reason, since upload speed is so slow). There was also no good feature to record. Also the DNS service was problematic, static IP is not possible with 3G.