IDMSS set up issues

Discussion in 'Networking' started by intime, Jul 22, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. intime

    intime n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Hi,
    I have a home CCTV system that I can access whilst at home via the IDMSS software on IOS, the issue is accessing the CCTV whilst not at home using my home WIFI.
    What do I need to change in my settings when setting up in the device manager please?
    Thank you in advance
     
  2. bigredfish

    bigredfish Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,394
    Likes Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Florida USA
    Are you using a VPN? Or port forwarding? (likely the latter, which isnt secure but alas..)

    The IP address of you NVR will be different on wifi on your home network vs remote. The IP address will be that which your internet provider assigns.

    Go to https://whatismyipaddress.com/ that will give you your external IP address.
     
  3. eggsan

    eggsan Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    37
    just change the IP Address with the external IP address provided by whatismyipaddress (as stated by bigredfish). Remember you need to port forward the tcp port 37777 (if still dahua default) in your router (google how-to depending in your particular router). Sometimes, your ISP provider may block your external public ip address for a private IP, in order to charge extra for remote accessing. If in doubt, please call your ISP provider
     
  4. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,517
    Likes Received:
    5,908
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    DON'T forward ports. How to Secure Your Network (Don't Get Hacked!) | IP Cam Talk
     
  5. eggsan

    eggsan Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    37
    Understand looney2ns, my explanation was only as a quick testing for intime, checking if the system could be remotely access. Even the public ip could change. Thanks for the info.