Install turret camera vertically?

chunk

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi,

First timer with installing turret cameras. I have several years experience with bullet cameras. Curious to know if there are any issues with installing turret cameras vertically? I am a little concerned about water potentially getting behind the camera body when it rains.

I am looking closely at purchasing amcrest IP5M-T1179EW28m turret Poe camera to replace my older GW security 5MP bullet cameras which are currently giving me issues.

Thank you in advance for any help or insight into this concern.

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
The "ball" of a turret camera is a sealed unit and the only thing that needs to be weatherproof. It can be mounted in any orientation needed without worry in terms of water ingress. Bugs, wasps, have been known to make themselves at home by getting in through the gap that may be left between the ball and the housing. A little Duct Seal takes care of that problem neatly and easily.

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
Even with a PFA-130 that little gap happens and bugs will get behind the ball, especially this time of year since the camera is warm and it's getting cooler at night.

Great stuff! Never hardens and can be easily removed for maintenance purposes then immediately reused. Stays pliable in the cold, too.

chunk

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Ordered it along with the cameras and all the other junk I had to order. I just moved and we get a ton of bugs around the lights here during the summer. Much more than where I moved from. Tons of dirt divers and European hornets around here as well.

Thanks again for the tips!!

chunk

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Not a problem. Just make sure you properly waterproof the connections.