IPC-HFW5231E-Z12E Motion Blurr

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by ccater1, Dec 7, 2018 at 9:46 AM.

Share This Page

  1. ccater1

    ccater1 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    5
    Anyone have any suggestions for a fix? Camera is brand spanking new (as in, installed a couple days ago new). I have done a hard reset and no success. Camera faulty? Video quality is good until any movement, then it blurrs so bad it's useless. I have another Z12E installed that works perfect. Didn't have to do anything special, it simply just works as expected.




    Casey
     
  2. ermac

    ermac n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London and South Africa
    Hey Casey, what BPS (bitrate) have you set the encoding at for that camera?

    (that's not motion blur, that is pixelation due to the bitrate setting set too low, or at least not high enough to give you the best quality on your recording.)
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2018 at 11:07 AM
    mat200 likes this.
  3. ccater1

    ccater1 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hey, thanks for the reply. The camera was default 512, but my other Z12E is 2048 and working fine so I set this camera to 2048, but no dice. H264H, fps =5, bitrate type cbr. Thanks
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2018 at 11:16 AM
  4. ccater1

    ccater1 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    5
    It may also be worth noting that the camera changed my night exposure settings by itself. That's a first for me as well.
     
  5. catcamstar

    catcamstar Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    154
    It looks like you're grabbing settings from the NVR setup pages, can you login directly to the cam itself and post the iFrame settings (especially this one is not visible on NVR screens). Does it also happen on H265?
     
  6. ermac

    ermac n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London and South Africa
    Considering you are using that camera to record fast moving objects, i.e cars, and it is a 1080p camera (2mp). 2048kbps is a bit too low (that is usually the optimum setting for 720p (1mp) recordings), you need a lot more Kbits per second to record those moving cars than on a still scene. If you are using CBR try set the bitrate to 4096Kbps (standard for 2mp/1080p), you can even try set it to 6144Kbps (will consume more HDD space as the recoding files will be bigger). Another option is to set it on VBR, quality set at 6 (best) and bitrate can be set to at least 4096Kbps, but I'd go with 6144Kbps.

    That should do the trick.:) Let us know!
     
    mat200 likes this.
  7. ccater1

    ccater1 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    5
    I will log into cam when I get home and post settings. I do have a question, though. The last Z12 I had mounted in this spot worked fine with the same settings. It may not have been optimal, but I didn't have any complaints as I was catching tags and even faces. That camera got the point where it would not focus at all, period, so I replaced with this one. I'm curious why this one can't work with the same settings? Not questioning, but I genuinely want to know and it just seems like the camera is the problem, but I'm here to learn and all ears for your advice
     
  8. ermac

    ermac n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London and South Africa
    Not sure why regarding the other camera versus this one Casey. Was the other Z12 a 2mp camera or a 1mp?

    I definitely think the issue here (from the video you posted) that the encoding bitrate is too low and that's why it is pixelating on the playback.

    Pixilation like that is either caused by the bitrate being too low - for example 2048kbps for a 1080p resolution. Or compression too high - for example if you select VBR, but set quality to 1 (low quality). In both examples storage and bandwidth is optimised as bitrate is decreased / compression is increased but recorded video quality suffers.

    Motion blur is something else, that's where moving objects become blurry and you lose some or a lot of detail, which can be caused by cam settings such as WDR or a slow shutter speed.
     
    bigredfish and mat200 like this.
  9. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    232
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    A frame rate of 5fps is way too slow for a car. The pixelation is cause by you camera settings , Change for CBR to VBR. Set the Iframe at 15 and the Frame rate at 15 fps. Set the Bit rate at 4096 or higher.

    What is the zoom set to ?

    What are you using to record the video ? Nvr or BI or micro sd in the camera.
     
    mat200 and bigredfish like this.
  10. ccater1

    ccater1 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    5
    You will have to excuse my ignorance, but when you say I frame settings are you referring to the I frame interval? If so that setting is set to 10 on the cam. I think I set it to 265 initially but the camera reset itself, so not sure if it helped or not.

    In the process of making these changes now. It's almost dark here, so will be tomorrow before I can check it.

    Yes it was exactly the same camera. It was actually a z12, and the new camera is as a z12e. I assume the z12e is an updated version, but it's still the same camera.


    I'll give this a try. I just don't understand why my old camera worked fine for roughly one year with same settings, and now the new camera does not. Zoom is set to 1080, which is roughly 90% give it take. I'm recording to an NVR.
     
  11. ccater1

    ccater1 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    5
    It looks like 3584 is the max i can set bitrate.
     
  12. ccater1

    ccater1 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    5
    I also wanted to mention that I didn't pull these settings out of thin air lol... This gentleman seemed to get good results so I copied his settings. IPC-HFW5231E-Z12 LPR from 137 feet
     
  13. cb8

    cb8 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    41
    For the ghosting at the end, besides ensuring your shutter speed is high enough, also make sure you haven't set the 3D NR too high. For daylight I would keep it at less than 30.

    If nothing seems to help, try starting out fresh by restoring the settings to factory defaults and post screenshots of the different settings pages (exposure and video).
     
    mat200 likes this.
  14. catcamstar

    catcamstar Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    154
    iFrame interval should "match" the fps - your fps was 5fps, and your iFrame interval is bit too high. I would squeeze that down to match the 5fps. If quality rises (through higher bitrate), your shots might get better too. As indicated in the post you referenced too (C-HFW5231E-Z12 LPR from 137 feet ) the iFrame there is also matching the fps.

    Good luck!
    CC
     
    mat200 likes this.
  15. ccater1

    ccater1 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks everyone for the replies. Sorry for the delayed response, but I've had other things come up and just haven't had time. Ok so increasing bitrate did indeed fix the problem. So I guess the only questions that remain are:

    Can I turn bitrate back down to say 2000 range and match i frame to my fps and get results?

    How do I calculate, or is there a table or general rule of thumb for what the correslr iframe setting should be for the selected fps setting?

    Why doesn't the camera automatically adjust iframe for best quality when in auto mode? I'm still baffled how all 3 cams before this one either auto adjusted correctly, or default setting just happened to be correct for me to simply plug it in, zoom and set fps.

    Thanks again for all the help
     
  16. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    232
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    Iframe internal is when a full complete frame is sent out, all the other fames between the iframes are just the pixels that change. So if the video does not change or has very slow moving objects you can have a higher value for the iframe interval. But if you have fast moving objects then you need a lower iframe interval. The general rule of thumb is keep the FPS and the IFrame interval the same. So that will create one IFRAME per second.

    If the bit rate is too low and the scene changes fast, then the camera discards some of the pixels.

    Also check the CBR and VBR setting. I use VBR.

    I record my back yard dog door at 8 fps, with and Iframe interval of 24 (3 seconds). the picture does not change much and when it does the pets are moving slow.