IR illumination quality after torchlight

spikeycam

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, newbie here.

First question is about IR illumination by cameras.

My set up:

I have a basic Hikvision system with three cameras and NVR to monitor activity outside the house.
Hikvision IP Cameras: model DS-2CD2142FWD-IWS with firmware V5.5.0 build 170725 (one has V5.4.5 build 170124).
These are hardwired with CAT6 cable back to my NVR in the house.
Hikvision NVR: model DS-7608NI-K2/8P with firmware V3.4.107 build 190927. Ports provide PoE.

IR illumination is from cameras.
Day and night operation all worked fine until someone shone a torch at one of the cameras.
Since then the output from that camera has been fine in daylight, but at night time when IR lamp is on, the image almost seems out of focus or at least very grainy. But image light levels are good. If I illuminate the area with soft visible light, the illuminated areas are sharp and clear. Camera has been turned on and off several times with no improvement.

Question 1: Has sensitivity been damaged by the torch light?
Question 2: Has camera gone in to some raised noise floor self protection mode?
Question 3: If I do a hard reset (button inside camera) will that reset it?
Question 4: Any options to play around with on the NVR (NVR functions look basic to be honest)
Question 5: Before I had the NVR, I controlled the cameras directly using PoE blocks and my laptop. Logged in to each camera with IExplorer. This option seems to have vastly more functions available than the limited set from my NVR. For example, nowhere on the NVR can I find how to turn IR on or off on the cameras.

Thanks for any help.

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score