IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

Issue with two-way audio on BI app with Foscam cameras

cahiatt

n3wb
Joined
Apr 28, 2015
Messages
21
Reaction score
2
I dont use ip cameras for video chat...also remember the camera is not ptz...its PT...there is no zoom in those vga foscams....
General use terminology..... Didn't know that about the VGA foscams. I hadn't tried them. They do (or did) have optical zoom on a few of the megapixel versions.

Not mine apparently. Seems as of today, one of them doesn't have tilt any more either. So I guess it's just a "p" iece....
 

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
9,346
Reaction score
5,252
Location
Denver, CO
you seem tech savvy, ever thought about a VoIP System? I have VoIP phones in each room and can force them to auto-answer on a specific extension (speakerphone unless someone picks up a handset).. i ring all mine up with auto-answer and drop em into a conference room for a quazi-paging/pa system.. I dont have the remote needs you do, but its proven great when someone is sick.. my office desk phone will ring once then I hear my wife ask for another box of tissues, she just hit a contact in her iphone and never got up out of bed..

each room has a phone and I have a line in the house for each person thats rang at the same time as the cell.. so if you cant find your cell or the battery is dead you can just get up and answer.. or if you want to see who's calling without finding your phone you can lookup from your chair and see.. I built it because I am in a mobile dead zone and no carrier has a good signal.. now I have micro-cells for both sprint & att but the voip system proven too useful to retire.. we use almost no mins but its great for hearing incoming calls, checking caller-id quick and easy, and of course internal comms

then you wouldn't be dependent on the 2-way audio features and could use whatever video system you wanted.. the latency would also be as good as any phone system, at least the audio.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Nov 16, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
What is the best two way audio IP camera that works with BI? I am having problems with sending audio on my Amcrest and Foscam cameras, I can listen but not able to talk. The Amcrest and Foscam software works well for two way audio. Otherwise BI is very good.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,146
Reaction score
10,116
What is the best two way audio IP camera that works with BI? I am having problems with sending audio on my Amcrest and Foscam cameras, I can listen but not able to talk. The Amcrest and Foscam software works well for two way audio. Otherwise BI is very good.
read the help file to set it up properly..
The amcrest and foscam software use non standard proprietary protocols specific to their cameras.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
Thanks for the quick reply fenderman. What help file are you referring to? Is that at the BI site?

If Foscam and Amcrest are proprietary, what is the standard and which ones are the best value that work with BI?

I will go look for the help file now.

Thanks,

John
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,146
Reaction score
10,116
Thanks for the quick reply fenderman. What help file are you referring to? Is that at the BI site?

If Foscam and Amcrest are proprietary, what is the standard and which ones are the best value that work with BI?

I will go look for the help file now.

Thanks,

John
blue iris help file...
 

philipzeo

n3wb
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
6
I've read the help files but I must be dense. I can't find how to get two way audio working on the Amcrest Pro-HD cameras.
There are so many of these cameras out there - how can this is so obscure.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,146
Reaction score
10,116
I've read the help files but I must be dense. I can't find how to get two way audio working on the Amcrest Pro-HD cameras.
There are so many of these cameras out there - how can this is so obscure.
What are your settings...what have you done to trouble shoot..
 

philipzeo

n3wb
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
6
I have tried setting rtsp with rtsp back channel, I have tried checking box for alternate ports RTP/UDP 7000, it didn't work so I put it back to 64 kbps G.711 u-law.
I'm not very familiar with the codecs in the security world.
upload_2017-1-30_16-45-51.png
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,146
Reaction score
10,116
try using the dahua rtsp protocol and if that doesnt work, do a find inspect..
 

Jdub

n3wb
Joined
Apr 7, 2017
Messages
15
Reaction score
8
Location
Ontario, Canada
I have tried setting rtsp with rtsp back channel, I have tried checking box for alternate ports RTP/UDP 7000, it didn't work so I put it back to 64 kbps G.711 u-law.
I'm not very familiar with the codecs in the security world.
View attachment 14600
I have one of the Amcrest IP2M-841's as well. I have 2-way audio working with the IOS app but talking to the camera sounds robotic - like the intro to Black Sabbath's Iron Man! I have tried adjusting many settings in Blue Iris and tried all the codecs in the camera, making sure to match the settings in Blue Iris. I have a support ticket in with the developer Ken; we're currently troubleshooting via email. Ken did mention the RTSP back-channel is only for ONVIF connections. I did change the settings to use the ONVIF connection for testing (using url discovered via ONVIF Device Manager) but nothing has fixed the issue so far. I'll post back if there are any updates. One important thing to note is I did have 2-way audio working correctly when I plugged a mic directly to the Blue Iris server and talked using the mic button from there. It just seems to affect the Mobile app in my testing.

Jon
 
Last edited:

lambodad

n3wb
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
18
Reaction score
4
Jon, have you been able to fix this issue? I have the exact same issue and have posted on another thread and have tried emailing Ken for many weeks now with no replies. All of my Cams are new Amcrest HD's and I can't get it to send audio to the cameras
 

Jdub

n3wb
Joined
Apr 7, 2017
Messages
15
Reaction score
8
Location
Ontario, Canada
Jon, have you been able to fix this issue? I have the exact same issue and have posted on another thread and have tried emailing Ken for many weeks now with no replies. All of my Cams are new Amcrest HD's and I can't get it to send audio to the cameras
Hey! The robotic voice issue hasn't been resolved but it does work. I posted my settings in another thread located at: No PTZ on Amcrest ProHD 1080p using BI

Let me know if this works. The developer said the codec used by the mobile app would likely need some tweaking. He was hoping to spend some time on it this summer. Just FYI I've been using the IOS mobile app.

Jon
 

cahiatt

n3wb
Joined
Apr 28, 2015
Messages
21
Reaction score
2
Mine is still on 554 and it is now working. They must have made some sort of changes behind the scenes in the mobile app or the main program on the last update as it just started working out of the blue.

I've tried all sorts of things to get two way audio to work on these cams and essentially threw in the towel. Port changes, server settings, etc... Nothing ever worked. And for no other than a software update the two way audio works.

Works well too.
 
Top