L2 or L3 Ethernet switch

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Aggie Adam, May 30, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. Aggie Adam

    Aggie Adam n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    i need to upgrade to managed switches. Do you recommend a L3 switch or is L2 good enough, or L3 lite?

    Any recommendations appreciated. I will need a managed switch in 3 different locations in my home. I assume I need to stick to the same name brand to be stackable?
     
  2. IAmATeaf

    IAmATeaf Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    318
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    What are your exact requirements?

    Just saying you need a managed switch means nothing on its own. There is also a significant cost difference between L2 and L3 managed switches so which features do you require?
     
  3. Ford

    Ford Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    BC
    What on earth are you doing in your home where you need to stack switches???
     
  4. Hammerhead786

    Hammerhead786 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    22
    I managed to pick up a used 24 port Procurve 2620 L3 switch for $34. It has 12 poe+ ports. I've setup 3 vlans with inter-vlan routing. My BI pc is on one vlan, the cameras are on a separate vlan with no internet access and the third vlan allows me to access the nvr from my home network and through the vpn.
     
  5. IAmATeaf

    IAmATeaf Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    318
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    That is a hell of a price.
     
    Hammerhead786 likes this.
  6. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    11,252
    Likes Received:
    3,578
    Location:
    Scotland
    It's more than I paid for a couple of similar 24-port switches some months back.
    Absolutely loads of used Enterprise-level switches to choose from on eBay.
     
  7. Aggie Adam

    Aggie Adam n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    I ended up getting an HP Procurve as well. A bit more than needed but priced right. Thanks.
     
  8. IAmATeaf

    IAmATeaf Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    318
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I’m going to take a look now but here in the uk they seem to still sell at price where I could get a brand new 8 port Poe+