Locked out of camera - password error

Nick1881

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all, newbie here I recently purchased the following after initially looking at Swann kits and reading here that Hikvision was the way to go.

1 x Hikvision DS-7608NI-K2/8P
1 x Hikvision DS-2CD2385FWD-I 4 mm
2 x Hikvision DS-2CD2342WD-I 2.8 mm
1 x Hikvision DS-2CD2342WD-I 4 mm
1 x Hikvision DS-2DE4A220IW-DE

It all of this arrived some weeks ago, I initially plugged it in and checked it all worked, I remember setting a random password for testing, like 123456789 or something I think. Finally installed 2 of the cameras today, plugged them in and aligned them, all good. Then I tried to login from a browser, forgot what password I set last month, so I did a factory reset. Now the cameras aren't showing, when you activate the camera, does it apply the NVR admin password to the cam? If so then I'm in trouble now as I can't remember exactly what I set it to initially.

The cameras shipped with v5.5.0_170725 firmware, I saw the thread about the password unlocker but it doesn't seem to work with this version.

I got the SADP tool, only the NVR shows, I guess because my home network is on the 10.100.#.# range and the cams are plugged into the POE sockets.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as they are currently only good for door stops :(

Q™

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Most likely -- when you reset the cameras to the factory default -- the camera's subnet/assgned ip addresses were changed to the factory default also; in fact, perhaps all cameras were reset to the same IP address. Try changing your subnet mask to 255.0.0.0 (I think---is that right fellas?) and then try to run the SADP tool again. Try to allow SADP to discover one (1) camera at a time.

Nick1881

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. I just tried that but they still don't show in SADP.

Q™

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score