Looking at 2 8MP Dome cameras & unsure on spec

rocky500

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Was looking for a 8MP dome camera with vari-focal lens. I'm new to IP cameras and have bought 2 new 2019 4MP 5442 models already from EmpireTech. Received the first one yesterday, Thanks Andy. :)
I was considering these 2 below. (Want a very good video for mainly day time, possibility to maybe read number plates plus good night too)
Security IP Camera CCTV 8MP WDR IR Dome Network Camera Without Logo IIPC-HDBW5831E-ZE
&
Dome Camera IPC-HDBW2831R-ZS 8MP WDR IR Dome Network Camera

Buy Products Online from China Wholesalers at Aliexpress.com

I noticed one has a "Focus Control - Motorized" and the other "Focus Control - Fixed"
I want to use it outdoors and wondering which may be better? If it can make a big difference between these 2?

Lense type is slightly different too "Lens Type - Motorized/ Auto Iris(DC)" and "Lens Type - Motorized"

Last edited:

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Was looking for a 8MP dome camera with vari-focal lens. I'm new to IP cameras and have bought 2 new 2019 4MP 5442 models already from EmpireTech. Received the first one yesterday, Thanks Andy. :)
I was considering these 2 below. (Want a very good video for mainly day time, possibility to maybe read number plates plus good night too)
Security IP Camera CCTV 8MP WDR IR Dome Network Camera Without Logo IIPC-HDBW5831E-ZE
&
Dome Camera IPC-HDBW2831R-ZS 8MP WDR IR Dome Network Camera

Buy Products Online from China Wholesalers at Aliexpress.com

I noticed one has a "Focus Control - Motorized" and the other "Focus Control - Fixed"
I want to use it outdoors and wondering which may be better? If it can make a big difference between these 2?

Lense type is slightly different too "Lens Type - Motorized/ Auto Iris(DC)" and "Lens Type - Motorized"
Welcome.
On a real computer, study this: Cliff notes
And read the LPR subject area.
Read the many reviews available here.

rocky500