Looking for a setup to satisfy my wife's bird watching addiction

IggyCam

n3wb
Reaction score
My wife bought some cheep bird feeder camera things a year or so ago , and she's become somewhat obsessed with it. She gets some decent pictures and video now and then and she's having fun however she's expressed interest in something better.

She's not all that tech savvy and it can be challenging to keep her from just buying something without her really understanding whether or not it's going to be a truly good setup. I'm a bit more tech savvy, but never tired to find a remote camera system that could capture photos and videos of wildlife in a high quality manner. I started looking into various WiFi cameras and such, eventually getting to the point where I noticed there are some security cameras with optical zoom and such. So, I started down this road of trying to see if maybe I should just buy a security camera system and add a camera or two to see what is possible. Now, any of you who are here already , know way more about this than I do, so I'm hoping to learn about things so I can potentially find a great solution for my wife's bird cam habbit.

I'm the type of guy, who would rather spend decent money to get a truly good solution, rather then trying to scrimp on funds and end up with gear that just doesn't really do as well as I want... having said that , funds aren't unlimited either. I was hoping to spend maybe $1000 or so, to get at least one really good camera and whatever it takes to record and/or view the photos/video from the camera. Ideally, with the ability to add cameras over time, maybe even doing some actual security footage unrelated to birds.

Anyway, I can already see, there's an overwhelming amount of information available , so I'm trying to find a good starting point.

Anyone who's gone down this road already , I'd be happy to hear your thoughts on such things.

Rob2020

Known around here
Reaction score
:welcome: