looking for BI setting recommendations for use with RDP (remote desktop connection)

NetWorker

BIT Beta Team
Reaction score
Hi All

I'm still learning what this amazing piece of software has to offer. Much of the configuration happens over of RDP (Remote Desktop Connection) and I'm learning there are some settings I can change to improve this connection method. Don't need or want an intense visual experience, just want the basics so I can remotely configure BI to dial in and test my settings, add more cameras and configure the properties of them.

Here are the settings I'm currently using geared towards remote desktop performance :

Options -> Startup -> Windows : Quiet (minimized and no splash)
Options -> Cameras -> Limit live preview rate (does not affect recording) : 15 fps
Options -> Cameras -> Display video during Remote Desktop Sessions : No

I'm looking for all around performance tips but the main focus is best configuration for RDP access as I plan to run this as a headless server down the road. Looking forward to some suggestions!

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Re: looking for BI setting recommendations for use with RDP (remote desktop connectio

I recommend:

1. Run Blue Iris as a background service. It is there in the options somewhere.

2. I would allow video during remote desktop sessions, but reduce the frame rate even further. If this does not yield good performance, you can always use a 3rd party remote desktop system like Teamviewer (best for remote/internet connections) or Multiplicity 3 (great for local LAN connections).

NetWorker

BIT Beta Team
Reaction score
Re: looking for BI setting recommendations for use with RDP (remote desktop connectio

I recommend:

1. Run Blue Iris as a background service. It is there in the options somewhere.
I've stumbled across this setting on BI v4 @ Options -> Startup -> Run as a Window service (no user account or interface--advanced use)