Looking for Ip camera

e007

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi.

We are setting up few cameras outdoors.
Dahua or Hikvision? Currently thinking to choose Hikvision because better support of browsers and the plugin is less mandatory.

Which one of these is the best choice?
Hikvision 4MP DS-2CD3145F-I SD Slot IR 30m Full HD Dome IP Security Camera H.265
Hikvision Original English DS-2CD1141-I 4MP CCTV IP POE Network Dome Camera 01 | eBay
Hikvision DS-2CD2145F-IS Multi-language 4MP Audio Alarm IR IP Dome Camera 2.8mm

Thanks for help. :)
-Eero

As an eBay Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
I'm not an HIK expert so hopefully one will come along, but Domes in general are not always the best choice for outdoors. The dome tends to reflect IR and have issues with keeping it clean.

Look at turret or bullet types.

Also HIK makes a 2MP low light series now, they would be 50% more than those you linked to, but worth every penny especially at night.

Fastb

Known around here
Reaction score
Eero,

Currently thinking to choose Hikvision because better support of browsers and the plugin is less mandatory.
The Pale Moon browser solves the plugin problem. It works great on Dahua cams and NVRs.
Your "Hik or Dahua?" selection considered browser & plugin. What else?

If you ever want to upgrade f/w, I believe Hik makes it much harder. Dahua, by contrast, is easier, and there are many resources here to provide gudiance and f/w. Look here: Dahua Firmware Mod Kit + Modded Dahua Firmware

Another consideration might be support. If you buy from Empiretecandy (a member of this forum), you'll get great support and low prices.

Another consideration might be low light performance. Right now, Dahua is in the lead with their Starlight series.
Dahua Starlight vs. Hikvision Darkfighter
Dahua 2MP Starlight Lineup