Lorex vs Dahua learning curve

Love2ski

n3wb
Reaction score
Complete novice here. Stumbled on this forum over the weekend and got some great pricing from Andy on the Dahua equipment. After reading through the cliff notes and the Wiki, it seems that you need some solid networking experience to setup remote monitoring and keep your network safe. This is for a vacation property and the home is already wired. Only 4 cameras at this time. Most interested in push notifications for action around the property.

My question is this: Do the Lorex kits sold on their site or in Costco require the same level of VPN knowledge for the setup or are they more designed for a homeowner with some basic network knowledge? I downloaded the manual for the Dahua NVR and it’s over 400 pages!

Trying to figure out if I will quickly get in over my head with either system. I enjoy a challenge but not sure if I have enough base knowledge to pull this off.

Thanks
Bill

Richthis

n3wb
Reaction score
I am new to this forum also and wondering similar question. I just installed my 4th Lorex system and I can tell u that it is pretty much plug and play.
I also called Lorex twice and got the help I needed. About to try and return one of the now 30 cameras I installed as picture is nothing like the others and we will see how that goes

Is it cheaper to go with the Dahua system or same price but better quality.

Love2ski

n3wb
Reaction score
The setup that Andy quoted would run between $1200-$1500 depending on which cameras I get. The Lorex system I am looking at will be between $800-$1100. Not a huge price difference and the quality of the Dahua cameras seems much better. It’s a small system with only 4-6 cameras. Just super concerned with the network setup.

Bill

pinko

Known around here
Reaction score