[MCR] Hikvision packer/unpacker for 5.3.x and newer firmware

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
11,739
Reaction score
3,784
Location
Scotland
Post a zipped copy of the firmware that you are exploring and I'll take a look at it.
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
11,739
Reaction score
3,784
Location
Scotland
The firmware you supplied is for a device class 68 - it's neither K41 nor K51 - and I forgot to ask what the firmware was for, and you didn't say.
That means that hiktools is not quite extracting the cramfs.img correctly from the firmware wrapper - the new_20.bin file is being left on the end of cramfs.img
So hiktools cannot do the whole job of unpacking and repacking that specific firmware.
In order to do that, some manual work cutting and splicing would be needed.
Tedious - but certainly possible with care.
 

habeschi

n3wb
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
21
Reaction score
0
That is the reason i exracted header, cramfs and new_20.bin with a hex editor. In the new_20.bin there is a timestamp (2017 Jan 03 20:44:22). Just fo fun i added one second and the update fails. Could it be that i have to change the Version number which is stored in the update? Maybe the DVR saves the MD5 of the last update and checks that i want to update the same version but with a different MD5?
 
Last edited:

habeschi

n3wb
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
21
Reaction score
0
I combined the header from an older firmware with the new one just to look what will happen. The error "Firmware mismatch" doesn't show up. The DVR reads the firmware file till the end and then shows the error "Upgrading failed, execute program error"

So there must be another cheksum stored somewhere in the header or in the new_20.bin

@alastairstevenson: can i upload the header, cramfs and new_20.bin so that you could check that i am doing it right?
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Tula
How i can do unpack firmware from DS-KH6210 and DS-KH6210-L? This tool do this? Unpack with error, and packed file not flashing on device, error: Update Failure. Firmware now 1.3. Thanks for answers.
 

pepeEL

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
150
Reaction score
7
Hi
My friend has camera DS-2CD2035-I from china with multilanguage firmware but without upgradable.
What is a platform and how i can change it to we can update firmware from official web page ?
thanks
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
11,739
Reaction score
3,784
Location
Scotland
What is a platform
This I believe is a G0 series camera.

we can update firmware from official web page ?
I've had several of these China-region cameras with ML firmware.
They had some quite smart hacked firmware that presumably deliberately did not have any firmware upgrade capabilities.
Search Results for Query: dieter and fiona | IP Cam Talk

To make changes and to upgrade, I had to use the serial console to erase the existing system and app partitions and manually apply updated tweaked firmware.
Not for the faint-hearted or non-techy types.
 

pepeEL

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
150
Reaction score
7
Can you describe me step by step how i can do it ?
 

pepeEL

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
150
Reaction score
7
Thanks.
Can you describe me how i can use it to write to my DS-7608I-E2 with multilanguage from China. I want update firmware in my NVR.... to latest firmware.
It is info from my NVR

DS-7608N-E2 / 8P0820160927AARR652447628WCVU
Firmware V3.4.80 build 160718
 

pepeEL

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
150
Reaction score
7
Hi
I try extract two firmware:
CN version firmware for g0:
IPC_G0_CN_STD_5.5.53_180716(digicap_cn.dav)

and also version EN:
IPC_G0_EN_STD_V5.5.2_Build170920(digicap_en.dav)

and i get an error and can not...(look on screen)
But some user send me on priv moded FW 5.4.41 also for g0 and this can extract(digicap.dav)
Look on my attachment.

Why this soft works ok on 5.4.41 but not works on 5.5.53 and newer ?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

pepeEL

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
150
Reaction score
7
Is anybody who can write new version of repacker to support new FW 5.5.53 for platform G0 ?
 
Top