Mostly 4k Live View... Blue Iris or NVR? Multiple PC options.

Sfair

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi,

I’m relatively new to IP cameras and I should have looked for advice sooner than I have.

Could you please help me decide what computer in my house should be used for Blue Iris or if I should just roll a Hikvision NVR?

I have multiple options for a PC and am looking to run multiple cameras. I have purchased 9x Hikvision 4k Cameras. I understand now that I probably don’t need 8MP cameras but it’s what I have now. I would like to make the most of the available resolution. I will probably add IR floods for the outdoor cameras to make up for their mediocre night vision vs Starlights or similar.

I have the following Hikvision cameras.

1x 2.8mm Dome DS-2CD2185FWD-I

1x 4mm Dome DS-2CD2185FWD-I

1x 4mm Dome with Audio DS-2CD2185FWD-IS (Front door)

6x 4mm Turret DS-2CD2385FWD-I

I only have a couple cameras setup inside and I am not currently recording. I’m just using those as a nanny cam. I have multiple Cat6 runs to do to install the remaining exterior cameras.

I was originally planning on using IVMS-4200 on my home server as a software NVR. After reading a few forums I see that IVMS-4200 has some major limitations. I don’t think it will work as I expected as a software NVR. If I’m off base please let me know.

I have since moved on to wanting to use Blue Iris. I purchased Blue Iris and did some quick testing with a 6300T processor. I used H.264 with hardware acceleration and H.265 without HA. I think my hardware is woefully underpowered for the cameras I have. I would prefer to keep 8MP resolution and 10 to 15 FPS for live view. I currently have 9 cameras and plan to expand to 12 to 16. On the other hand I’m not sure I need all the features of Blue Iris since I’m going to mostly just live view the cameras.