Need advice on system and camera position

emerb

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hello there,

I’m new here and this is my first post so I apologize in advance if I’m posting on the wrong forum. I’m a software engineer and I’m really comfortable around networks and home automation but I know nothing about NVRs and security cameras so I need help figuring out the right system and which camera to install where.

My needs are simple:
  • Cover the perimeter around the house (specially door and windows).
  • Make sure resolution is good enough to identify anyone coming close to the house.
  • Good night vision.
  • Remote access throug mobile app.
  • Keep a budget $900 for this first implementation (I might add more internal cameras later).
This is what I need now considering I don’t even know what a surveillance system can offer besides the live view and recorded content but I’m a techie person so i will figure out a way to leverage any feature I can get.

After reading through multiple threads and looking around online stores I found this NVR and camera but I’m still not sure if this is the best I can get for money:

At this point I’m really looking for advice on whether above NVR or cameras will work, whether I should use different cameras to cover different areas around the house and stuff like that.

These are pictures from my house if someone want to share some ideas on camera type and position/location for cameras. I still can't figure out how to properly cover my front door.

Thanks in advance.

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
  • Good night vision.
  • Keep a budget $900 for this first implementation (I might add more internal cameras later).
Welcome emerb,