Need help for a 60 camera install

Reaction score
Forgive me, i'm new to IP cameras. I work in IT, so am comfortable with most tech, but I don't have much experience with camera systems. My experience is some UniFi cameras (gen 1 through gen 3) in random spots because we needed something cheap, and an analog system installed by Tyco Integrated Security that requires IE in compatibility mode to use the web interface, and their software to view multiple DVRs at once doesn't support Windows 8+.

I have been tasked with finding a system to handle around 60 cameras that will be installed in a new building currently under construction. After doing research, it looks like a Dhaua or Hikvision NVR might be right for me. I also read on an old post on here that I should split the camera's into several NVR systems. The goal is to be able to look at all 60 cameras at once for when we have events (our security guy will do this), as well as record motion triggered events in 1080p. Also the web access needs to support Mac, and something other than Internet Explorer. Something simple to operate and use for the security guy would be helpful as well. I can figure out the configuration of whatever we go with.

I guess my question boils down to would Dhaua or Hikvision be a better user experience? Which would be the better company to go with?

I like the fact that Dhaua has a lot more technical specs on their website, but there are more videos displaying the local and web interface of Hikvision on youtube. Also quickly googling part numbers and Hikvision seems to be available in more places.

I am going to use some PoE switches to connect to the cameras, so having ports on the NVR isn't required.

Thanks,
Tyler

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score