Need help putting together an 18+ camera system

loglobal

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I am in the process of picking out or building a surveillance system to monitor a 100,000 SF commercial facility. Blue Iris is one of the possible routes I could go. The new system will replace a preexisting 16-channel analog DVR system, which does not work very well because of the low-resolution cameras and poor software interface.

How well will Blue Iris handle an 18-camera system that could easily grow to 25 cameras over the next year? I am only beginning to learn about Blue Iris and what it can do, but it sounds like it's not as simple as purchasing cameras and plugging them in. It also sounds like having that many cameras is not a good idea. Ideally, I would like to have the entire system recording 15 at 1920 x 1080. We might find that a few cameras only need to be set at 1280 x 720, and, likewise, we might find that we want one or two cameras that are of greater resolution than 1920 x 1080.

I don't think we will want to do anything beyond being able to monitor live feeds and store and retrieve footage from the past three or four days. But we might look into detection if it wouldn't cause resource issues.

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
25 cameras is alot for BluIris.. and hardware NVR's that do 32ch are pretty pricey..

Since you just want to view live feeds and retrieve footage, might consider a pair of 16ch NVR's.. it'll provide you with a bit of redundancy so if a NVR fails for any reason only half the cameras will stop recording and if you have any really important feeds down you can move them to the other nvr.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
It depends on the camera resolution you intend to run on the cameras...you can easily run 25 2mp cameras on an i7-6700 system - 15fps...I just recently picked one up for 400...the blue iris mobile app is MUCH easier to use than any NVR mobile app.

fbnoise

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score