Need to replace Honeywell NVR with something more user friendly

Odysseus

n3wb
Reaction score
I hope this is the correct place for this post, but if not, would the moderator please move it. I looked at the forum names and this seems like my best choice. However I am new to the forum and hope that this is the appropriate place for my question. Also I am still a beginner at NVR admin. Anyway here goes.

I have a Honeywell Performance Series IP NVR (HEN04111) with cameras, the administration of which is simply above my pay grade. I was about to buy a consumer grade system such as Swann or Samsung Smartcam but my neighbor advised for the Honeywell. Months of banging my head against the wall trying to learn how to operate it has been essentially fruitless.

I had hoped to get it to a point where I can get event alerts by text, email, and/or telephone call to my android phone, and to be able to connect to the NVR by phone and/or computer to turn event alerts on and off, see recorded video, etc., but so far not much progress.

So I am asking for recommendations from the users of this forum. Is there a consumer friendly (emphasis on friendly) NVR to which I can connect my Honeywell wired POE cams (2 interior, 2 exterior) and accomplish my simple objectives? I can appreciate that the Honeywell NVR is a very sophisticated, excellent piece of kit which has myriad settings and features that I would love to be able to use. But all those features do me no good if I cannot administer the system.

Objectives:
-to receive event alerts to my android phone
-to be able to use the phone to gather more information about the event (I am learning that lots of things cause alerts other than burglars.)
-to connect to the NVR admin panel remotely by phone and/or computer to turn event alerts on and off
-to be able to limit the number of alerts caused by sudden cloudiness, wind caused motion, moths/birds, and a host of other things.