Network Install - Phase 1

snikwah

n3wb
Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
12
Reaction score
19
I've been reading here for several months now, while planning and plotting. I finally got the first phase of my install done last night. This is the first phase, with the second being somewhere around 5-8 PoE ipcams with a dedicated blue iris box in the office and 1U 700va UPS in the bottom slot of the rack. I moved all my network equipment into the master bedroom closet and ran cat6 cable to me and my wife's PCs, the future blue iris box and the WiFi access point. From the new location of the equipment in the closet, the runs for the cams will be MUCH easier. I'm stoked with how well it came out considering I haven't ran much cable to speak of or crimped a RJ45 in many years. Contemplated doing another access point upstairs, but just with the one, coverage is excellent everywhere. Even on the back patio. Loving the location of the equipment...out of the way yet still accessible when needed. Just thought I'd share...here's the list of equipment:

TrendNet 24 port cat6 patch panel
Ubiquiti EdgeRouter 4 with rack mount bracket
Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch 16 PoE 150watt
Cyber Power rack mount power strip
Ubiquiti UAP-AC-PRO
 

Attachments

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
9,543
Reaction score
8,608
Location
Evansville, In. USA
I've been reading here for several months now, while planning and plotting. I finally got the first phase of my install done last night. This is the first phase, with the second being somewhere around 5-8 PoE ipcams with a dedicated blue iris box in the office and 1U 700va UPS in the bottom slot of the rack. I moved all my network equipment into the master bedroom closet and ran cat6 cable to me and my wife's PCs, the future blue iris box and the WiFi access point. From the new location of the equipment in the closet, the runs for the cams will be MUCH easier. I'm stoked with how well it came out considering I haven't ran much cable to speak of or crimped a RJ45 in many years. Contemplated doing another access point upstairs, but just with the one, coverage is excellent everywhere. Even on the back patio. Loving the location of the equipment...out of the way yet still accessible when needed. Just thought I'd share...here's the list of equipment:

TrendNet 24 port cat6 patch panel
Ubiquiti EdgeRouter 4 with rack mount bracket
Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch 16 PoE 150watt
Cyber Power rack mount power strip
Ubiquiti UAP-AC-PRO
Nice job!
What wall rack is that? Happy with it?
 

snikwah

n3wb
Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
12
Reaction score
19
Nice job!
What wall rack is that? Happy with it?
Thanks! i got this one from amazon for ~$40. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000VDPBXM/

Yeah, I think it's just fine and plenty sturdy for what i'm using it for. Kinda wish I had gotten the 8u one, but the 6u is really probably all I need. I did offset it from the wall with 8 washers to allow for the cables to route behind it, which worked out great.
 

snikwah

n3wb
Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
12
Reaction score
19
Very Nice, I would have gotten a shoe to my arse if I tried that in our closet.
really, how come? wife didn't have any issues with it, since it's up and out of the way. can still put things on the shelf under it. I would think it would be preferable out of sight for most.
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
6,049
Reaction score
4,022
really, how come? wife didn't have any issues with it, since it's up and out of the way. can still put things on the shelf under it. I would think it would be preferable out of sight for most.
Each WAF requirement varies.. based on numerous constants and variables not fully understood by me ;-P
 

taz420nj

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
59
Reaction score
40
Location
KS
Nice clean install bro. I really need to get a wall rack and get mine cleaned up. That ones nice. My switch and firewall wont fit in a shallow one though, let alone the UPS.. :(
 

snikwah

n3wb
Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
12
Reaction score
19
Nice clean install bro. I really need to get a wall rack and get mine cleaned up. That ones nice. My switch and firewall wont fit in a shallow one though, let alone the UPS.. :(
Interesting.. what switch and UPS do you have? The switch fit in this little rack with plenty of room to spare depth wise. The UPS I'm getting fits as well. Your UPS must be a 2u model?

This is the UPS I'm getting that will fit in my rack. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000XJLLKG/
 

c hris527

Known around here
Joined
Oct 12, 2015
Messages
1,448
Reaction score
1,134
Location
NY
really, how come? wife didn't have any issues with it, since it's up and out of the way. can still put things on the shelf under it. I would think it would be preferable out of sight for most.
First of all, i would have to remove a rack of shoes and boxes and that would NOT be happening..some women have sacred spaces and that closet would be one of them.
 

cuz

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Messages
101
Reaction score
32
Location
New England
Nice setup, looks very good.
How hard is it to access the back of the patch panel in that wall mount? Is it hinges to allow easy access?

I really do have to clean up my setup in my basement.
 

snikwah

n3wb
Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
12
Reaction score
19
Nice setup, looks very good.
How hard is it to access the back of the patch panel in that wall mount? Is it hinges to allow easy access?

I really do have to clean up my setup in my basement.
Thanks, the rear is not accessible via a hinge or anything. However, all you have to do is flip it upside down and the contacts will be facing out for easy access. then after you get done punching the cables down, just flip it back the right way, if that makes sense. Here's a good video that shows what I mean by flip it upside down.
 

taz420nj

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
59
Reaction score
40
Location
KS
Interesting.. what switch and UPS do you have? The switch fit in this little rack with plenty of room to spare depth wise.
It's a Nortel (Avaya) Baystack 5520-24T-PWR. It's like 15" deep (not even including the power cord sticking out, so like 16 1/2"). Honestly I would get something smaller but I only paid $100 for FOUR of them (24 port gigabit PoE) - pretty much stole them lol! And with the exception of the loud fans (hence the zipties) they work great. Also running pfSense on an old Watchguard Firebox, which almost as deep.




The UPS I'm getting fits as well. Your UPS must be a 2u model?

This is the UPS I'm getting that will fit in my rack. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000XJLLKG/
Yeah I have that one's big brother, OR1500LCDRM-2U. It's 18" deep not including the cords and wall warts. It also weighs about 60lbs so it's staying on the floor lol!

 

Serodgers

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 17, 2018
Messages
52
Reaction score
36
Location
PC FL
Just finished up my phase 1 project as well. Getting ready for some POE IP cams. Had to reconfigure network connections and expand.Network.jpg
Old setup. Removed to make room for this.IMG_6886.jpg

Still need to get a rack mount UPS.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
USA
Just finished up my phase 1 project as well. Getting ready for some POE IP cams. Had to reconfigure network connections and expand.View attachment 38310
Old setup. Removed to make room for this.View attachment 38311

Still need to get a rack mount UPS.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
This is an awesome setup. I have the same white OG rack that you have too. Except mine is built into the wall and will require a little more work to reconfigure. I am in the research/shopping stage of my phase 1 build. I appreciate the pics to help me formulate an idea.
 

botics

Getting comfortable
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
179
Reaction score
91
Location
Coral Gables, Florida
It's a Nortel (Avaya) Baystack 5520-24T-PWR. It's like 15" deep (not even including the power cord sticking out, so like 16 1/2"). Honestly I would get something smaller but I only paid $100 for FOUR of them (24 port gigabit PoE) - pretty much stole them lol! And with the exception of the loud fans (hence the zipties) they work great. Also running pfSense on an old Watchguard Firebox, which almost as deep.






Yeah I have that one's big brother, OR1500LCDRM-2U. It's 18" deep not including the cords and wall warts. It also weighs about 60lbs so it's staying on the floor lol!

Make sure you clean out the air vents on these units. Dust can be a killer.
 

Ed Boyer

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
57
Reaction score
4
Location
Pasadena, Maryland
Could you please tell me were I can purchase the covers you used were the cat5 cables are coming out of the ceiling, the are white and it looks like it has bristles that touch the cables. Thanks
 

pinko

Known around here
Joined
May 26, 2017
Messages
342
Reaction score
545
Location
Australia
got_racks.png
Nice set of of racks!
I got a few Phase one install's underway too. I'm up to the "stall part of install". It's cold and windy outside, so how can I possibly finish them today?...
Great to see other's getting stuff done..
 
Top