network ip address config

Discussion in 'Networking' started by grumpywilson, Aug 17, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. grumpywilson

    grumpywilson Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NJ
    so i am having issues with my ip addresses on my equipment. the router says the address for the BI server is !92.168.1.30 for the first NIC card. but when i put that address in as a static ip address i loose internet connection. if i leave it to obtain ip address automatically and then set up the second NIC card i get no camera signal in BI still.

    here is the address setup

    router 192.168.1.1
    BI server NIC1 192.168.1.31
    BI server NIC2 192.168.30.XXX
    cameras 192.168.30.XXX

    what am i missing or not doing right?
     
  2. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Location:
    Houston Tx
  3. grumpywilson

    grumpywilson Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NJ
    Sorry, I should have clarified. I am doing a initial setup for my system so I can start adding cameras and viewing the streams and can't seem to get internet to the BI server when I set the static IP on the Ethernet port that is connected to the router. I figured it out when I couldn't get any video feeds to show up on BI and cam back to IPCT to start troubleshooting and had no internet. Now I'm just trying to figure out what has to change to get this working correctly.
     
  4. c hris527

    c hris527 Known around here

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    NY
    Is the gateway settings on nic 2 (BI side) the same as nic 1 ? If it is it might confuse windows. Try NO gateway and NO DNS in nic 2 and see what happens. Or a ghost gateway.
     
  5. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    Set the IP address on the Nic 1 to a static value. 192.168.1.31. In the router set the same address to static, to the match the Mac address of the Nic 1 on then BI pc. Reboot the BI PC. Make sure for the BI PC you can ping sucessfully 192.168.1.1 .

    All address on NIC 2 and the cameras are static 192.168.30.xxx for that sub net. There is no DHCP on 192.168.30.xxx
     
  6. grumpywilson

    grumpywilson Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NJ
    Ok, i set the address to the BI of nic1 to static 192.168.1.31. the Mac address matches and I rebooted the BI of. I can ping 192.168.1.1 but still have no internet connection on the BI of.
     
  7. grumpywilson

    grumpywilson Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NJ
    I don't know what happened but now I have a live feed to one of the two cameras and still no internet connection to the BI pc
     
  8. grumpywilson

    grumpywilson Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NJ
    I figured it out early this morning why there was no internet connection. There was a setting I overlooked on the BI pc that wasn't allowing the connection. Now I think I have to update the other camera. I already did I hard reset on it and that didn't work.