New(b) Home Setup - Thoughts/Recommendations?

freshjs_23

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello All,

I'm new to the Security Camera scene but I've been reading through this forum (cliff notes included) for the past 3 or 4 days learning and figuring out what specs fit my needs. I have an IT background so the networking portion should be fairly simple but I'm new to the camera software and all the options/terminology associated with the cameras. I made my decision on what cameras to purchase and which NVR to purchase based on all the reviews and knowledge given solely in this forum alone.

To start, I'm only monitoring the front porch, driveway, back patio, and back yard. I have a really small yard and small 2 car driveway so i'm hoping to get away with only using 4 cameras but I have room to expand if need be. My setup will be Fios > NVR > POE switch > cameras.

This is what I purchased (from Andy) so far:

1 NVR5208-4KS2 w/ 2 WD Purple 4TB drives
1 Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE (this one will be for the front porch for facial recognition)
1 Dahua IPC-HDW4231EM-AS (this will be for the back patio for decent facial recognition)
2 IPC-HDW1320S (one of these will be for the driveway which is very short and the other one will be for the backyard which is very small. These are more for just seeing what is going on and not to see faces)

I do have a question about which POE switch to purchase between the two I have narrowed it down to. My only real question (which will essentially give me my answer on which to purchase) is if there is enough traffic being generated from the 4 cameras to need a gig POE switch or should I be fine withe 10/100 POE switch?

The two POE switches I'm looking at are:

BV-Tech SW800G
BV-Tech SW801