New camera (vivotek), package not sealed?

HondoB

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
new here after reading quite a bit.
I am just getting started in visual surveillance and just ordered a vivotek camera (german store)
I went the extra mile to get an NDAA compliant camera (for whatever that's worth), and now I am a little displeased that the
original vitotek box wasnt in a sealed foil, and no other seal subject to be broken with opening is present, which would allow you to know whether the box had been opened before. The box can be opened and closed easily without any marks.
I would have thought a security product would most certainly be sealed when sold new.
Does anyone have experiences with Vivotek cameras in particular, do they ship them to the resellers like that? How about other manufacturers?
I have contacted vivotek, waiting for a response. However I can already imagine it will be along the lines of "we send it to vendors in variable packages". Have heard something like that when I had asked another manufacturer about the same issue.

Cheers,
Hondo

HondoB

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey there,
it was, to the best of my knowledge, a reputable and large general electronics online shop. I enquired with them, waiting for a response. I watched several unboxing videos (about 5-7) on youtube and none of the boxes seamed to be wrapped or sealed, of course they may have taken care of that before starting to record.

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Reaction score
Jesus, how expensive are these cams

They don’t do any turrets, so your limited to domes or bullets and on their main site they don’t tell you the sensor size unless you download the spec sheet!

Would be very interested if they are worth it?

HondoB

n3wb
Reaction score
No seals on the boxes for domes or turrets. The bullets are the only ones that have tape on them.
Can you elaborate on that? Is that a general observation regardless of manufacturer or specific for vivotek?