New camera, which one?

Avlund

n3wb
Reaction score
Total newbie here.

I'm looking for a new outdoor camera and I have no idea where to start. The ideal camera would have the following characteristics:

- battery support, so I don't have to drill a hole for a wire
- support for storing data to my NAS (Synology) so I don't have recurring cloud provider fees
- at least HD recording, 4K would be nice
- night vision
- audio recording (2 way audio would be nice)
- access from an app outside of the network (e.g. by being connected to my Samsung Smartthings hub)
- weather resistant
- floodlight would be cool as well but not mandatory
- reasonable price, maybe even cheap

Is something like this at all viable? It needs to be available in the EU.

Thanks a lot!

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Total newbie here.

I'm looking for a new outdoor camera and I have no idea where to start. The ideal camera would have the following characteristics:

- battery support, so I don't have to drill a hole for a wire
- support for storing data to my NAS (Synology) so I don't have recurring cloud provider fees
- at least HD recording, 4K would be nice
- night vision
- audio recording (2 way audio would be nice)
- access from an app outside of the network (e.g. by being connected to my Samsung Smartthings hub)
- weather resistant
- floodlight would be cool as well but not mandatory
- reasonable price, maybe even cheap

Is something like this at all viable? It needs to be available in the EU.

Thanks a lot!
Hi @Avlund

1. Consumer battery operated cameras are problematic.
  2. Consumer cloud cameras also have reliability and other issues.
  3. Consumer battery operated and cloud dependent cameras have all the issues associated with the above 2.

suggest taking some time first and reading the cliff notes here, and reviewing what you really want from a camera.
( example: watch dog when away from home, help ID thieves stealing from my mailbox,.. )

Reaction score