New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

Discussion in 'Doorbells' started by fleece, Aug 18, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. rafale

    rafale n3wb

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Portland
    The power is likely more important than the voltage. The rating of the transformer is Voltage and Volt/Ampere which is technically the same as Wattage. For this puppy, 10VA is not going to make it. It seems like it requires 15VA alone so with a chime and the power kit, you can count an additional 5VA. You also have to account for the power loss due to the wiring (distance and gauge) I am running mine on a 40VA transformer with a mechnical chime. Voltage, as long as it is above 12V it seems to be ok though higher voltage actually helps lower the wire resistance loss and improve power efficiency by driving a lower current. If you take a voltmeter to it, you will actually notice that without load, it is always a little higher than the rating so I chose 16V as 24V seemed to be on the high side.
     
  2. katamara

    katamara Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am currently waiting for my delivery of the RCA HSDB2A. Where are you finding the new firmware? I RCA's website sends you to the first version of the camera.
     
  3. cage771

    cage771 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    10
    Once you get it setup to work with your phone, you will be able to update it via the app. It was a pretty easy process.
     
  4. katamara

    katamara Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    OK. Thank you.
     
  5. Pilot04

    Pilot04 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    40
    It's via your phone app where it will show an update is available for your doorbell. I mainly use Hik-Connect and Ezviz for my RCA HSDB2A. Wonder if any of the Laview owners know if the Q2 firmware update that supports ONVIF from Laview Halo ONE is still on time or delayed into later this year.
     
  6. tygger

    tygger Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    25
    Had the DB1 and got it working reliably after tons of tinkering. I just got the DB2 to replace it and now my mechanical chime does not work when I have the powerkit installed. When I disconnect the powerkit, the chime works. Maybe my transformer is too weak; it's 16v 10va.
     
  7. tygger

    tygger Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    25
    I'm also on the latest version, 5.2.4, and the color is much warmer (yellowish) than all my other cams.
     
  8. LTek

    LTek Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    Android App... you guys seeing any differences?

    fastest to start stream?
    notifications work consistently?
    features/functions others don't have?
    etc

    I've only used HIK & RCA...
    HIK app has a 'local' option which the RCA app does not.
    Notifications seem same on RCA & HIK
    Both have similar timing, but Longer delay on connecting to video stream than it should after doorbell is pushed.
     
  9. James92TSi

    James92TSi n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I wasn't getting doorbell calls or PIR notifications reliably on RCA. Removed RCA and installed Hik and EZVIZ and tested them at the same time. Found they both worked the same for receiving notifications and calls; stayed with EZVIZ because it presents the camera video in the proper (portrait) ratio used by the DB2. The Hik app would smoosh the portrait video into a landscape window. So Hik lost on that aesthetics issue.

    Basically EZVIZ looks very similar to RCA app but it actually worked for me where I had tons of problems with not getting notifications or doorbell calls on RCA.

    Wife is still using RCA and says she gets notifications from it - but who knows how timely. She doesn't really pay attention to stuff on her phone. I'd be shocked if she ever answered a doorbell call at any point, lol.

    Our phones are both Galaxy S8.
     
  10. LTek

    LTek Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    messed with RCA app and now it seems to be working better... notifications are quicker but answering is still slow.
     
  11. rafale

    rafale n3wb

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Portland
    I have switched to the guarding vision app and it is surprisingly reliable. Having replaced a skybell HD, at the same location and the same wifi/network setup, only moving to 5GHz, for me made a huge difference.
     
  12. Jeroen de Graaf

    Jeroen de Graaf n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Beinsdorp
    This is more a SSH question I guess but how do you get the created Ezviz-DB1.conf file in the proper directory? (help) I'm trying for days now and i understand a bit from Linux.

    It looks like this:
    upload_2019-6-10_13-17-24.png

    I can't add Ezviz-DB1 as a camera because it's in "root root" instead of "SurveillanceStation SurveillanceStation"
     
  13. metis

    metis n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    @Jeron de Graaf:

    as root:

    chown SurveillanceStation:SurveillanceStation Ezviz-DB1.conf
     
  14. Jeroen de Graaf

    Jeroen de Graaf n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Beinsdorp
    Thank you, I already found it in the mean time. ;)
    I really want the Ezviz-DB1 on my Synology Surveillance Station desperately.
    I'm now rebooting it but I don't think that's needed after SSH. Before I rebooted it I was able to see the image from my doorbell once but it's not very stable because when I tried to close and store it said again the connection was lost.

    Maybe I can launch a ticket at Synology to just add it in the new "Device Pack".
     
  15. LTek

    LTek Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    'Guarding Vision' android app is identical to the LaView android app... the RCA app looks a bit different and the HIKvision app is a even more different (has local connections, etc). I suspect they are all the same code base, just different branches.
     
  16. Jeroen de Graaf

    Jeroen de Graaf n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Beinsdorp
    Almost!

    upload_2019-6-10_14-38-52.png

    When I press "Complete" the connection is lost and I can't save.
     
  17. JimNational

    JimNational n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    holland
    Hi all,
    Hopefully you can help. I read this entire thread (and others, and watched videos) trying to figure out why I can't get a signal from my HSDB2A doorbell into Blue Iris. Here's a screenshot of my settings and the resulting "no signal" error. Can someone explain why no signal? I think I've tried everything. Am I over thinking this?
    Capture01.JPG Capture02.JPG
     
  18. cage771

    cage771 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    10
    For the model, select DS-2CDxxxx RTSP. Only put your IP address in the address box. Under path enter /streaming/channels/101/

    These are my settings. Do me a favor though, once you get the camera working, try connecting to it via the app and see if the recording in BI continues. Same with if you intitiate a door bell ring at the device and answer it on the app. For me, BI drops the stream but VLC doesn't.
     
  19. JimNational

    JimNational n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    holland
    Unfortunately that didn't get the camera working. Are you saying that if the phone app is using the camera then BI doesn't see a signal? Because that could be the issue right there.
     
  20. cage771

    cage771 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    10
    Huh. I was thinking about it last night but didn't post about it, but does the RTSP feed work in VLC or via the phone app? How is the WiFi signal? I didn't have to do much to establish the connection. Although I started out with using the generic RTSP. Dumb question, but you are using the password that is on the IR Code decal correct? Might want to verify that. I'll do an A/B again later on today.

    With what I'm seeing, if I use the app (RCA), the connection to BI drops. Once I disconnect live view from the phone app, BI starts recording video and audio as normal again. VLC stays up and running through it all.....so there has to be something that I'm overlooking. Unless there is some part of the stream that BI wants to "see" and VLC doesn't care about.

    In the grand scheme of things, this is more a minor issue than a deal breaker. BI records on motion like my other cameras. When two way comms are established between the app and the doorbell, the doorbell records it and I can access it via the SD card either through my phone or iVMS. Everything is recorded, just in two different places.