New Ring Alarm System 199

Discussion in 'Alarm & Security Systems' started by fenderman, Jun 14, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. opus too

    opus too Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    usa
    Anyone use the sensors in an un-heated area like a garage. Do they function in low temps here in MN.
     
  2. tangent

    tangent IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,573
    Likes Received:
    2,268
    They should preform similarly to most wireless alarm sensors. The battery is really the question, in wireless alarm sensors it's generally a CR123A or CR2032. In extreme cold range could be reduced. I've seen sensors with CR123A batteries do pretty well in the cold.
     
    opus too likes this.
  3. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,929
    Likes Received:
    8,461
    Both the motion and contact sensors use a 123A battery.
     
    opus too and MnemonicMonkey like this.
  4. opus too

    opus too Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    usa
    Ordered a system for my sister in-law. I have installed over a dozen wireless Optex Pirs that do excellent outside all winter, but they cost 10x more. Will keep you posted.
    John
     
  5. jjp44343

    jjp44343 n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the Ring system, can I set some sensors to not trip the full alarm siren etc but just notify me?

    I would like to arm my system at night but be able to sleep with a window open which is excluded for the night.

    Also I’m not currently a Costco member does anyone know the current price?

    Thanks
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,929
    Likes Received:
    8,461
    Its back at 239.
    You cannot exclude the sensor for a specified period of time. However you can select whether the sensor is armed for a specific mode. So you can set that sensor to only be armed when the alarm is set to away, but disarmed when set to home, the rest of your sensors will remain armed (front door etc).
     
    jjp44343 likes this.
  7. tangent

    tangent IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,573
    Likes Received:
    2,268
  8. opus too

    opus too Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    usa
    I installed the Ring system today for a sister in-law. Impressed with the packaging, a lot of thought went into the overall system. Problem was the android phones we have are not compatible with the Ring for the initial bluetooth setup, after that they worked great. Tech support answered the phone within a minute and determined the problem with the phones quickly (I was surprised!) Setting them up with a iphone was easy enough and you can tailor the way the system works pretty much anyway you want. Still need to order one more extender for the sensors in a metal pole barn. Putting the one extender in a barn window and the base in a house window worked, about 100 ft apart. The house also has steel siding. Thanks to fenderman for bringing this system to my attention. So far I'm much more impressed than I thought I'd be.
     
    jjp44343 and fenderman like this.
  9. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,929
    Likes Received:
    8,461
    Note, that you can perform in initial set up using an Android phone. You just need to enable GPS. This is a quirk in Android not an issue with ring.
     
  10. jjp44343

    jjp44343 n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Install went great. Small bug on the iPhone app where if you phone doesn't grant camera privileges by default the app does not prompt you to enable them and just shows a white screen. I was able to enter the QR code digits manually.
     
  11. opus too

    opus too Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    usa
    I wish the support guy knew that, it would have saved me a bit of time with my wife's phone. My phone was too old, the app wouldn't install. Is it possible to read signal strength of the sensors? I couldn't find anything. It would be a nice feature.
    John
     
  12. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,929
    Likes Received:
    8,461
    not that i know
     
  13. tony22

    tony22 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    USA
    So I finally got mine set up last night. Easy peasy. No problems, but there were a couple of things I couldn't quite figure out. First, it's not clear how I might disable the alarm from my phone app when I get home. Second, I can't see if there's a way to disable certain sensors or zones when I want to arm the system while I'm still home (like at night).
     
  14. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,929
    Likes Received:
    8,461
    Its right there when you log into the app. Disarmed, home, away.
    You can set any sensor to not be armed when you are home in the device>mode settings, select the sensor and uncheck home mode.
     
  15. tony22

    tony22 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks @fenderman. One other thing - do the sensors tie only to the base station, or do they also to the keypad? I'm trying to figure out the best place for the range extender. If the sensors close to the keypad can use the keypad as the linkage point, then that would change where I put the extender.
     
  16. tony22

    tony22 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    USA
    Never mind. I figured that out.

    Is there a way to change the brightness on the keypad? Didn't see anything about that in the manual or in the app, so I'm guessing the answer is no.
     
  17. jjp44343

    jjp44343 n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the more technically inclined,

    homespun/ring-alarm

    I was able to use this project to build in some features that Ring doesn’t offer like auto arm and disarm based on time. Use extreme caution as you could create issues for yourself if you don’t know what you’re doing with code.