New to smart home

MyMaJa

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi All, I am new to the smart home world and I want to have a complete surveillance system. I have multiple cameras (Wyze and blink). I want to have the capability of 24/7 recording and adding the feeds to sharptools dashboards.

the two routes are buying a complete solution from Amazon Or build a solution using Tinycam pro installed on a reliable hardware.

Need your advice.

Thanks

DanDenver

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Smart home solutions and surveillance cameras dont have much too do with each other unless you build out a system wherein the two different systems talk to each other. Some smart home solutions allow for running cameras through them and many security camera systems have AI built into them along with other advanced features.

I use Blue Iris as well as HomeSeer. The two systems use HTTP calls in order keep them both in sync. Both can override the other depending on alerts, time of day, doors being opened, etc. Are you looking to integrate these two types of systems?

MyMaJa

n3wb
Reaction score
I am struggling to understand the setup.

1-Cameras
2-software for the cameras (tinycam or blueiris)
3-storage like NAS

am I missing anything ?

DanDenver

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Based on that, seems like you want a security camera setup? Residential? Inside/outside? Budget? I don’t see anything about a smart home listed in your three bullets.

I run BI with HomeSeer. When I first installed BI with AI it worked really well. Alerts can be turned on or off based on what profile is currently running. But the profie would only change based on time of day. So I integrated HS so that when the garage door is activated or open, it would change the BI profile to no alerts. This was helpful to me as I would get alerts when my wife would pull into the garage.