New user needs help finding cameras

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Rakin, Jun 2, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. Rakin

    Rakin Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    US
    Ok please bare with me. I just got bi5 installed to a pc I just bought and am trying set up some new starlight cameras. When I plug camera in to poe switch the power light will flash and then go off. Not really sure what I’m doing and when I go to add camera it just won’t find it.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,968
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    What is the internal IP address of your router ?
    What is IP address of you pc ?
    The IP address of the dahua starlight is 192.168.1.108 unless you changed it.
    The bi PC and the camera need to be on the same sub net.
    Is the Poe switch smart, configurable, or is it dumb. What is make and model?

    Try connecting to the camera using internet explorer or palemoon32 browser.

    Download the dahua config tool.
     
  3. Rakin

    Rakin Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    US
    Ok I’ve finally gotten into the camera and tooled around on it a little by changing the ip range on my pc. I’m guessing I need to change the ip of each camera in the camera itself? I have 2 network adapters on my pc. One will be for my dumb poe switch with cameras and the other for internet. Is it best to create my own range of ips on the network adapter and put the cameras in that range?

    Holy crap this is just the tip of the iceberg. So much to learn on this


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,968
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    The second adapter in the bi PC needs to have a static IP that is on a different sub net then your home network. All cameras need to have static IP address and be on the same sub net as the second nic. Remember all dressadon the second nic Ethernet must be static, as there is no DHCP router.
    Example
    Home router IP 192.168.1.1
    Bi PC first nic 192.168.1.55
    Bi second nic. 192.168.100.1
    First Camera IP 192.168.100.20
    Second camera IP 192.168.100.21
     
    TL1096r and TonyR like this.
  5. Rakin

    Rakin Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    US

    I can handle that!

    Is there a list of initial settings when setting up new cameras for bi? I want to make sure I don’t screw up anything on the camera setup that would jeopardize my system or not mesh well with the bi software.
     
  6. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,968
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    Set the frame rate to 15 or less, set iframe to the same value. Set bite rate type to vbr.

    Set the static IP address. That is about it for a start.
     
    TL1096r likes this.
  7. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    205
    YES! True. I am doing the same thing and this helped save some trouble hopefully. Let me know how your setup went.