Newbie needing advice

wpsfan

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all,

Closing on my first home next week and ordered a DIY alarm system today, next up is surveillance. I work in IT so when I found out about IP cams running over PoE switches, recording to a NAS, etc ..instead of traditional setups I became a lot more interested. The issue I'm having is the more I read the more options I find, and I need input on which is "best" for me.

1. 4 IP cams running to a PoE switch in the attic(I live in CO, hopefully won't have issues with heat), fish a single cable down from the switch to a router. Connect NVR to router. Connect NVR directly to TV in living room via HDMI. Also want to watch cams from bedroom, was thinking a wireless Android box running an app, HDMI from box to TV.

2. Similar to above except no NVR. Instead run Blue Iris on a dedicated laptop, HDMI from laptop to TV, point to NAS. I read about recording only when motion is detected, seems like a great idea to save HDD space. Sounds great on paper, need to research how well it actually works. I'll live in a remote area so there should be very little motion aside from animals.

No sure what else is out there, definitely open to other ideas. Would also appreciate recommendations on brands and such, would like to keep the setup under $1k if possible.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
@wpsfan Welcome to the forum. Go with 4 hikvision 2mp/4mp turret cameras and blue iris. What are the specs on your laptop? The downside to a laptop is that they cannot be configured to resume power on after a power outage. You can buy a dell optiplex i5-4590 at the dell outlet or hp elitedesk 800 i5-4590 for about 300 on ebay with warranty.
As far are tv viewing, you can use hdmi over ethernet adapters or and android stick.

wpsfan

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply @fenderman ..my laptop is just a cheapo that meets the minimum requiremens for BI. I'll definitely look into the Dell's or see if I can build my own for similar $$.