Noob here from Vancouver Canada! Would love some help!

steve gill

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello!

I've been reading the forum here for a few days now and want to say thank you! It is an excellent resource! I will admit it is a little overwhelming at times though.

So I have a new house build and I've gotten the security guys to run 7 cat5e wires around the outside of the house. They want to sell me an 8 camera 4mp dahua kit for $2600 (CAD). Can't get the camera models or nvr models out of them yet. Not sure about how much storage.

My house is located in a safe quiet neighborhood. I have a school on one side of the house and mostly good neighbors. I'm really just throwing up cameras just because. I would wall mount all of these cameras on stucco (uploaded a pic).

I'm considering just buying my own from Andy and doing it myself.

- NVR4208-8P-4KS2 (NVR)
- 5 IPC-HFW1831E (mix of lenses between 6mm and 4mm)
- 2 IPC-HDW5231R-ZE (one near the front gate, one at the back of the house)
- 2 PFB203W mounts
- 5 PFA121 junction boxes (are these required?)
- WD Purple 4TB

How does this seem? Should I pick different cameras? Anything I'm missing?

I imagine this kit will cost me around $2250 (CAD).

Alternatively, I was looking at a cheap kit from Lorex like https://www.lorextechnology.com/detail/4k-ip-camera-system/4k-ultra-hd-ip-nvr-security-camera-system-with-6-ip-cameras/4KHDIP86-0-p?_requestid=2125866. It would cost me around $1000 (CAD). Quite the savings.

Thanks!
-Steve

20190522_141440.jpg

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hello!
I'm considering just buying my own from Andy and doing it myself.

- NVR4208-8P-4KS2 (NVR)
- 5 IPC-HFW1831E (mix of lenses between 6mm and 4mm)
- 2 IPC-HDW5231R-ZE (one near the front gate, one at the back of the house)
- 2 PFB203W mounts
- 5 PFA121 junction boxes (are these required?)
- WD Purple 4TB

How does this seem? Should I pick different cameras? Anything I'm missing?

I imagine this kit will cost me around $2250 (CAD).