NVR vs Blue Iris

Flintstone61

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
144
Reaction score
113
Location
Minnesota USA
Hod Dee Phone gents! ......this HP Prodesk Sff has an Nvme drive!? and room for a spinner.....So this would work for a BI Pc....HP ProDesk 600 G4 SFF Intel Core i7-8700 3.2GHz 16GB DDR4 256GB NVMe + 1TB HDD
But its a bit on the higher end for price....but it's rockin the Gen 8 i7.
 
Last edited:

whoami ™

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
44
Location
United States
Consider that an i5-8500 is more powerful than an i7-6700 and can be had for about 300-350 see hp elitedesks.
Note that there is only space for a single 3.5 drive in the optiplex SFF size.
I've been kicking myself in the ass for a while now for buying a OptiPlex not realizing the HP Elitedesk 800 G3 was out there when I put together my system.
 

Flintstone61

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
144
Reaction score
113
Location
Minnesota USA
I've been kicking myself in the ass for a while now for buying a OptiPlex not realizing the HP Elitedesk 800 G3 was out there when I put together my system.
Yeah it looks like Hp has the better system for BI in this arena. Everything is shrinking. What they call a MT or Mini-Tower form factor in optiplex's in the last 3-4 years has only 1 3.5 bay and 2 2.5 bays...
The one i bought in August for my Buddy was a Dell Optiplex 3050 MT Desktop i5 6500 3.2GHz 1TB HDD 8GB DDR4 Win 10 Pro @ $267.00, but he's not running a BI system on it....(yet).
 

Old Timer

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
429
Reaction score
673
Location
ok
Hod Dee Phone gents! ......this HP Prodesk Sff has an Nvme drive!? and room for a spinner.....So this would work for a BI Pc....HP ProDesk 600 G4 SFF Intel Core i7-8700 3.2GHz 16GB DDR4 256GB NVMe + 1TB HDD
But its a bit on the higher end for price....but it's rockin the Gen 8 i7.
I actually use a Pro400 G5 SFF with a I5-8600, SSD and 16G in it for my BlueIris. I was installing a ton of them, and got it for a great price.
I have a NVME drive for it but have not taken the time to install. Looking back, I should have got the MT case so I would have had
more room for drives. I had to make a jury rigged way to add a 5.25" purple in there. It has worked well over the last couple years. I
am always changing cameras around while testing new ones and fixing old ones. At the present I have 26 cameras from 1.3mp to 8pm,
with most being 2 and 4mp. With intel HA and sub streams enabled, I run from 12% to 20% CPU usage. I have a weather station running
on it that would save a little if I moved it to the server.

Before I retired, the corporation I worked for used mainly Dell, and they are comparable to the HP line, but a little harder to figure the
lower lines with the pro lines. If you can grab a pro line that has been on lease for 1-3 years, the prices are really reasonable.
 

Old Timer

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
429
Reaction score
673
Location
ok
Thoughts on this one? For not much more, it looks like you can get a new one right from Amazon (from the HP store):
HP had it marked down to $579 but sold out.

Amazon was $539, eBay I found for about $549.
They really don't say what all is included with it Ram 0, Hard drive 0, you will have more tied up on guts.
I take it you want it for your personal PC?
It's way more then you need for Blueiris.
 

cousinjoe

n3wb
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
20
Location
06801
From specs I read on that same model on HP/eBay it listed a stick of 8GB ram (3 slots open for additional) and a 256GB SSD with room for a second hard drive.

Yeah, this is still strictly for Blue Iris. I'm a mac guy and all set on personal computers.
 

whoami ™

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
44
Location
United States
If I was to do it all over again I'd buy this...

eBay: HP EliteDesk 800 G3 SFF i7 7700

All it needs is a NVMe M.2 for the OS (Samsung 970 EVO Plus), 2x WD Purple's, and another 8-16gb of RAM. Windows is free as long as the activate watermark doesn't bother you, or buy a key from the EU off eBay for $5. Only thing more you could ask for is a GEN4 M.2 slot. And maybe you'll get lucky and it'll have the Nvidia GPU in there even tho its not listed. Had it happen to me before buying a Thinkpad off eBay.

A lot of times with decommissioned computers without HDD's you install Windows and it already has a key associated with the CPU so it activates automatically.
 

cousinjoe

n3wb
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
20
Location
06801
If I was to do it all over again I'd buy this...

eBay: HP EliteDesk 800 G3 SFF i7 7700
Thanks! That definitely helps with my search.

I’ve been going back and forth searching for “HP EliteDesk 800 G4 i5-8500” and “HP ProDesk 600 G4 i5-8500” on eBay. I originally searched for i7’s thinking they were more powerful but was informed the i5-8500 was a better processor.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,918
Reaction score
13,640
Thanks! That definitely helps with my search.

I’ve been going back and forth searching for “HP EliteDesk 800 G4 i5-8500” and “HP ProDesk 600 G4 i5-8500” on eBay. I originally searched for i7’s thinking they were more powerful but was informed the i5-8500 was a better processor.
There was a huge performance boost going from 7th gen to 8th gen. That is why the 8th gen i5 is more powerful than a 7th gen i7. An 8th gen i7-8700 processor will obviously be faster than both of those.
 

whoami ™

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
44
Location
United States
Thanks! That definitely helps with my search.

I’ve been going back and forth searching for “HP EliteDesk 800 G4 i5-8500” and “HP ProDesk 600 G4 i5-8500” on eBay. I originally searched for i7’s thinking they were more powerful but was informed the i5-8500 was a better processor.
¯\(ツ)
looks to me like 6 cores 6 threads @4.10ghz (i5) vs. 4 cores 8 threads @ 4.5ghz (i7) what am i missing
edit: oh thats the i7 K

so 4.2ghz
 

cousinjoe

n3wb
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
20
Location
06801
There was a huge performance boost going from 7th gen to 8th gen. That is why the 8th gen i5 is more powerful than a 7th gen i7. An 8th gen i7-8700 processor will obviously be faster than both of those.
This might be a dumb question but how do I know which gen the processor is while searching? I know they list the gen of the computers (G3 & G4) but wasn’t looking for processor generation, only “i5-8500”.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,918
Reaction score
13,640
This might be a dumb question but how do I know which gen the processor is while searching? I know they list the gen of the computers (G3 & G4) but wasn’t looking for processor generation, only “i5-8500”.
The 8 in the 8500 signifies eighth gen. 9500 would be 9th. 7500 would be seventh. Same with the i7. 8700 is 8th gen and so on.
 

whoami ™

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
44
Location
United States
User benchmarks gives the i5 8500 a 9% overall speed increase vs. i7 7700

Yea, i guess. its almost like a i5 6500 vs i7 7700. i7 7700 has 12% on i5 6500, I would have thought more throughput with 8 threads would account for more. if in the same price range I'd go out of my way for the i5 8500
 
Last edited:

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,918
Reaction score
13,640
User benchmarks gives the i5 8500 a 9% overall speed increase vs. i7 7700

Yea, i guess. its almost like a i5 6500 vs i7 7700. i7 7700 has 12% on i5 6500, I would have thought more throughput with 8 threads would account for more. if in the same price range I'd go out of my way for the i5 8500
Something went wrong with the math. The 7700 has over 50 percent on the 6500.
 
Top