Onvif port conflict

Jimmyangle

n3wb
Reaction score
hi I'm new to all this nvr IP camera stuff but I've been fitting security systems for 15 years. This problem has got me confused. I have a 4 channel nvr with 3x 1080p onvif cameras (port 80) and 1x 960p onvif camera (port 8999) the 3 are fine but the 960p camera keeps rebooting all the time the picture will be on then off again. They all have individual IP addresses the nvr is on the network and remotely viewed. So there must be a conflict somewhere I think it may be to do with the onvif ports but I'm guessing really I don't know if you've got to forward any ports for the different cameras so I could do with some help really any ideas welcome
Thanks

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
It's more likely that there is a bug in the camera firmware that's causing the rebooting. Have you checked for updates / contacted the supplier or manufacturer?
Has the ONVIF or web admin or RTSP port for the problem camera been customised? I have read on other forums of cameras becoming unreliable when ports were changed from defaults, though I do not recall the details.

If you have unique IP addresses for all devices, there is no conflict. Using the same port on a different IP address is not a conflict, and not a problem.

40th Floor

n3wb
Reaction score
Paras lost (see if I can fix that).

Is the problem camera rebooting or only losing picture for some time (how long)? Just to make that clear.

Anyway, I'd do this to start:

- Disconnect all but the problem camera

Still happen? Yes.

It's got nothing to do with the other cameras. Probably a bad cable. Maybe the network port (either end). Maybe the power at that network port.

- Try another cable and/or another network port

- Take it out of service

Still happen? No.

It may be a power supply problem. Direct connect power if that camera has that option (as in, don't use POE) and put the other cameras back in.