Outdoor cameras: longevity / service reliability over time?

Reaction score
Stupid me.. while on my new smartphone, signed up on Reddit Home Security instead of IpCamTalk (which I corrected). Did post something that was more for this website:
-----------
Spent a good couple weeks reading up on cameras, hardware, and software; thanks to this site of wealthy info and opinions.
Pretty sure I'll be going the Dahua/Hikvision hardware path via Andy here, with Blue Iris on a i7 computer.

My day job is running network infrastructure wiring (cat5e/cat6/coaxial) so all cameras will be hardwired. If I can help/give advice about running cabling, let me know. I'll be running outdoor cat6 under the roof eves and then down either PVC or EMT pipes to a box where the cameras will be mounted to. Possibly, 4-8 outdoor cameras. Drip loops will be included along with 2 cables per location.

One point that I am concerned about is the longevity and reliability for outdoor cameras that get blasted by mother nature. At work, we had a customer purchase the Defender analog set (Costco?) we installed and wired. Bullets and dome/indoor and out. Out of 8 outdoor installed, 3 died and 2 more turned green for video signal under a year.

I actually have a couple Defender DVR's and 14-18 cameras just sitting around the office the customer bought as spares that are not longer wanted :)

Though the Dahua/Hikvision cameras seem to be the top dog for visuals... those that have installed them out in the elements, have any failed or caused issue in a year..or 5 years?
-----------------
PS: those looking for outdoor rated cat5e or cat6 (these will always be black coated stiffer thicker cables), keep in mind your local telecommunications business have this stuff on spools/boxes that they trash quite often (we usually trash under 150'). Could easily ask to buy for cheap or get for free.

Last edited:

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score