Picking a system

dzimm27

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I have been doing tons of reading on this forum and elsewhere, but was hoping someone would chime in to confirm I am on the right track with my thought and findings. I am looking to put in an NVR with 4-5 cameras and at this point and want to pick one "ecosystem" and stay there. Goals are to be able to use live view to see who is at the door or if anyone is in the driveway, recorded viewing secondary but with motion detection so that we can catch interesting events on camera with local wildlife or (hopefully not) anyone venturing into our yard. Hikvision and Dahua seem to each be good choices and have their proponents so I am sure either would be a good solution. Initially I was leaning heavily towards Hikvision until I started playing with the phone and computer applications.

Hikvision:
-The web interface for the demo systems load well on PC and Mac which is a big plus, but while it looks full featured, it seems to lack the "polish" of Dahua's
-iVMS4200 works on both PC and Mac, did not seem as polished as SmartPSS, but possibly more functinal.
-iVMS4500 on iOS would not connect to any of the demo systems. People in the iOS app store are complaining an update broke it, which is a big concern. I don't carry an Android anymore but the Android store reviews seem to not be reporting this. Maybe this is just an issue with these demo systems but not being able to remote view could be a deal killer. Everyone else seems to say Hikvision hands down has the best mobile app though, so I am presuming/hoping my test experience is not a good example of what to expect.

Dahua: