Please help with selection of cameras/NVR and placement

ADCS

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hey everyone

I would like to install about 3-4 cameras outside of my house. I am pretty new to the world of IP cameras but I have been reading post after post the past few months trying to take it all in. I am a weekend photographer and my day job is designing EO/IR turrets mounted on aircrafts so I am familiar with the tech just at an entirely different scale.

I would like to put 2 or 3 cameras at the front of my house and probably just one in the back. The back is fully fenced with a 7' fence and the gate is locked 24/7. We don't have much crime here so they would mostly be for peace of mind. I also hate that I can't see the driveway from inside my house so I need eyes out front.

I attached a pic of the front. I was originally thinking of putting one camera on each side of the garage door on the eave beside each pot light. They would be about 10' from the ground at that location. Then I started wondering if placing one at the garage gable end peak would be good enough to cover the entire driveway. It would be about 14' high there and the driveway is 3 car wide and 2.5 car long. I would also like one at the main doorway. I am not sure if it would be better looking at the door from the garage wall or looking at the door/walkway from above the door. The front door has a covered patio which is about 8' tall so they would probably need to be vandal proof dome. Is that to low to place a camera?

For the back I was thinking either on the house up high covering the yard or on the shed facing back to the house. The backyard is only about 40'x40'. The shed is in the back left corner about 30' fron the house.