PoE Switch Suggestion List

tibimakai

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 8, 2017
Messages
322
Reaction score
72
You never know, the force is strong. ;)
 

TL1096r

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
1,067
Reaction score
317
No its not. You can add more cameras to the other switches as well. You are tossing 50 bux in the toilet. Do you intend to add 2 HUGE ptz cameras that draw large amounts of power? No.
You are correct for right now doing a camera setup from https://store.ipcamtalk.com/ but in the future I might be looking at that water jug model that you can PTZ.
 

TL1096r

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
1,067
Reaction score
317
Two of them?
I promise you that will never happen but you're whatever makes you feel better.
No just 1 large PTZ. In future: 6 camera (IPCT) + 1 PTZ (SD49225T-HN) works with the $80 switch linked?
 

Defcon

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
126
Reaction score
26
Location
UK
Testing a D-Link 8-Port POE+ DGS-1008MP. (Fanless) 140W.

Overkill but so far this past two weeks it’s been flawless.

Cost me £75 here in the UK
 

awsum140

Known around here
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
1,283
Reaction score
1,123
Location
Southern NJ
I have a BV Tech, 16 port, PoE switch and I've been happy with it until today. It's currently powering ten cameras with no problems, just, what I call, slightly warm to the touch. I was moving power connections around this morning and found its weak point. It will not power up with a ten camera load. When I powered it back up, not even the power LED came on and I immediately thought "DOA". I unplugged everything and opened the case. There is a fuse in there, soldered in place, so I thought I bridge it to see if that was the problem. There were no signs of any component failures with a visual inspection, so I figured what the heck. Anyhow, when I plugged it back in, with nothing else plugged in to it, it powered right back up. So, if you have a BV Tech switch and lose power, expect to have to unplug everything, AC included, wait a few minutes, power it back up then plug in the cameras. A little disappointing. Hope this saves someone else some angst when power drops.
 

handinpalm

Pulling my weight
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
277
Reaction score
196
Location
Tampa Bay FL
Awsum, it must be the initial "inrush current" of all the cams when powering up, and fold backs your power supply in the switch (temporary over current). It is common power up electronic characteristics. Probably get by with having the majority of cams connected, then plug the rest in. Unfortunately, OEM's cannot spec the inrush current for worse case loads because of the variability of the users load, just steady state current/power.
 
Last edited:

Tibor Makai

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Apr 16, 2017
Messages
131
Reaction score
41
Awsum, do you have the 130W version? That is what I have and at the moment, it works great with 10 cameras, 2 PTZ included(1 big and 1 small). I'm planning to add another small PTZ to it. Got it refurbished, from the bay(bestipsolutions) for $75(now is $85).
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
4
Location
NZ
Hi. I'm new to IPCams - but have read a lot over the last few weeks and I'm slowing figuring it all out (I have ordered 3 cameras EmpireCandy and have a server pc ready to go). The one thing I can't figure out is the switch.
I want something that will handle 6-8 cameras. But I'm worried about total power draw.
We get a lot of power outages where I live, so I was going to use a UPS.

But all the switches I see have wattage ratings above 500w. Is this the norm?

I found this unit - Cisco Catalyst 3750 - 24 ports POE switch but it has an operational consumption of 495watt. I'm going to need a big UPS to power that and the server pc? Or am I missing something?
Please help - searched everywhere, but I'm so confused on this
 

crw030

Known around here
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
621
Reaction score
327
Location
Colorado
I believe that switch will be 10/100 on all ports except the SFP and is also end of life, albeit its probably built like a tank. I know when I have tossed around older Cisco switches, the general feedback has been the old switches draw significant power even at idle. So in the future you might want to look at something newer, that might be more efficient at idle, since regardless of which switch you select the camera POE draw will be whatever the cameras need (so that won't change).

I looked that model up and it looks like it will be 55-57 watts at 5%-100% network load with 0% PoE load. I only mention that because depending on your electricity cost, having a base idle consumption of 55w for that one device would cost me like $4 per month before I even connect a camera to it, where something a little newer/smaller might draw 15-30w at idle.
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
4
Location
NZ
I believe that switch will be 10/100 on all ports except the SFP and is also end of life, albeit its probably built like a tank. I know when I have tossed around older Cisco switches, the general feedback has been the old switches draw significant power even at idle. So in the future you might want to look at something newer, that might be more efficient at idle, since regardless of which switch you select the camera POE draw will be whatever the cameras need (so that won't change).

I looked that model up and it looks like it will be 55-57 watts at 5%-100% network load with 0% PoE load. I only mention that because depending on your electricity cost, having a base idle consumption of 55w for that one device would cost me like $4 per month before I even connect a camera to it, where something a little newer/smaller might draw 15-30w at idle.
Ok thank you.
I have so much to learn!
Would something like this be a better choice then - Dahua 8-Port Fast Ethernet PoE Switch

or D-Link DGS-1100-08P 8-Port Gigabit EasySmart PoE Switch with 8 x PoE (Max 64W)
 

Walrus

Getting comfortable
Joined
Nov 19, 2018
Messages
518
Reaction score
356
Location
Ontario
Yeah I was going to add, if you are looking at only 6-8 cams in the future, don't bother with an enterprise/business 24 port switch, as @crw030 said, even at idle it'll likely draw lots of power.
 

Mr_D

Getting comfortable
Joined
Nov 17, 2017
Messages
597
Reaction score
516
Location
Southern California
Power draw depends on the camera, but my 2MP Dauha Starlights use about 3w during the day and 6w with the IR is on, if I remember correctly.
 

sudo_inss

n3wb
Joined
Apr 10, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Denver, CO
I have a BV Tech, 16 port, PoE switch and I've been happy with it until today. It's currently powering ten cameras with no problems, just, what I call, slightly warm to the touch. I was moving power connections around this morning and found its weak point. It will not power up with a ten camera load. When I powered it back up, not even the power LED came on and I immediately thought "DOA". I unplugged everything and opened the case. There is a fuse in there, soldered in place, so I thought I bridge it to see if that was the problem. There were no signs of any component failures with a visual inspection, so I figured what the heck. Anyhow, when I plugged it back in, with nothing else plugged in to it, it powered right back up. So, if you have a BV Tech switch and lose power, expect to have to unplug everything, AC included, wait a few minutes, power it back up then plug in the cameras. A little disappointing. Hope this saves someone else some angst when power drops.
Hey awsum - did you have that BV-Tech plugged into any kind of line-interactive or online UPS?

Not asking to be cheeky - those switches have great port layouts and fantastic reviews... well, everywhere. I was thinking about picking some up for our setups because I hate using the built-in PoE functionality in some of these NVRs, they make it an unnecessary pain to access the cameras underneath, in my experience. So I'd just as soon get our own switches and have the cameras be on the same local subnet as everything else. We don't need a ton of IPs at our locations.

I actually called them up today to ask some questions about how they work, and I was looking at this BV-Tech 16-port PoE switch and the guy just... dead-ass drops "Oh, I wouldn't get that one. That one'll probably last like, one or two years." I'm thinking... Oh? Uh... thanks for the honesty? I was a little suspect at first because he immediately points me to their 24-port, but he also said some things about their little 4-port and another 8-port that would suffice for this otherwise smaller setup.
 
Last edited:
Top