PoE Switch Suggestion List

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by giomania, Oct 16, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. tibimakai

    tibimakai Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    43
    You never know, the force is strong. ;)
     
  2. dalepa

    dalepa Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Cameraguy likes this.
  3. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    134
    You are correct for right now doing a camera setup from https://store.ipcamtalk.com/ but in the future I might be looking at that water jug model that you can PTZ.
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,818
    Likes Received:
    9,792
    Two of them?
    I promise you that will never happen but you're whatever makes you feel better.
     
    TL1096r likes this.
  5. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    134
    No just 1 large PTZ. In future: 6 camera (IPCT) + 1 PTZ (SD49225T-HN) works with the $80 switch linked?
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,818
    Likes Received:
    9,792
    Yes.
     
    TL1096r likes this.
  7. Defcon

    Defcon Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    UK
    Testing a D-Link 8-Port POE+ DGS-1008MP. (Fanless) 140W.

    Overkill but so far this past two weeks it’s been flawless.

    Cost me £75 here in the UK
     
    CCTVCam likes this.
  8. awsum140

    awsum140 Known around here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    I have a BV Tech, 16 port, PoE switch and I've been happy with it until today. It's currently powering ten cameras with no problems, just, what I call, slightly warm to the touch. I was moving power connections around this morning and found its weak point. It will not power up with a ten camera load. When I powered it back up, not even the power LED came on and I immediately thought "DOA". I unplugged everything and opened the case. There is a fuse in there, soldered in place, so I thought I bridge it to see if that was the problem. There were no signs of any component failures with a visual inspection, so I figured what the heck. Anyhow, when I plugged it back in, with nothing else plugged in to it, it powered right back up. So, if you have a BV Tech switch and lose power, expect to have to unplug everything, AC included, wait a few minutes, power it back up then plug in the cameras. A little disappointing. Hope this saves someone else some angst when power drops.
     
  9. handinpalm

    handinpalm Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Tampa Bay FL
    Awsum, it must be the initial "inrush current" of all the cams when powering up, and fold backs your power supply in the switch (temporary over current). It is common power up electronic characteristics. Probably get by with having the majority of cams connected, then plug the rest in. Unfortunately, OEM's cannot spec the inrush current for worse case loads because of the variability of the users load, just steady state current/power.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019
  10. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    134
    giomania likes this.
  11. Tibor Makai

    Tibor Makai Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    39
    Awsum, do you have the 130W version? That is what I have and at the moment, it works great with 10 cameras, 2 PTZ included(1 big and 1 small). I'm planning to add another small PTZ to it. Got it refurbished, from the bay(bestipsolutions) for $75(now is $85).
     
  12. johnnydough

    johnnydough n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NZ
    Hi. I'm new to IPCams - but have read a lot over the last few weeks and I'm slowing figuring it all out (I have ordered 3 cameras EmpireCandy and have a server pc ready to go). The one thing I can't figure out is the switch.
    I want something that will handle 6-8 cameras. But I'm worried about total power draw.
    We get a lot of power outages where I live, so I was going to use a UPS.

    But all the switches I see have wattage ratings above 500w. Is this the norm?

    I found this unit - Cisco Catalyst 3750 - 24 ports POE switch but it has an operational consumption of 495watt. I'm going to need a big UPS to power that and the server pc? Or am I missing something?
    Please help - searched everywhere, but I'm so confused on this
     
  13. Walrus

    Walrus Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Ontario
    That 495W would be if you had 24 cameras connected, all drawing the full 15W.
     
    johnnydough likes this.
  14. johnnydough

    johnnydough n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NZ
    Thank you!!!
    I'll go with that cisco switch then :D
     
  15. crw030

    crw030 Known around here

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Colorado
    I believe that switch will be 10/100 on all ports except the SFP and is also end of life, albeit its probably built like a tank. I know when I have tossed around older Cisco switches, the general feedback has been the old switches draw significant power even at idle. So in the future you might want to look at something newer, that might be more efficient at idle, since regardless of which switch you select the camera POE draw will be whatever the cameras need (so that won't change).

    I looked that model up and it looks like it will be 55-57 watts at 5%-100% network load with 0% PoE load. I only mention that because depending on your electricity cost, having a base idle consumption of 55w for that one device would cost me like $4 per month before I even connect a camera to it, where something a little newer/smaller might draw 15-30w at idle.
     
  16. johnnydough

    johnnydough n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NZ
    Ok thank you.
    I have so much to learn!
    Would something like this be a better choice then - Dahua 8-Port Fast Ethernet PoE Switch

    or D-Link DGS-1100-08P 8-Port Gigabit EasySmart PoE Switch with 8 x PoE (Max 64W)
     
  17. Walrus

    Walrus Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Ontario
    Yeah I was going to add, if you are looking at only 6-8 cams in the future, don't bother with an enterprise/business 24 port switch, as @crw030 said, even at idle it'll likely draw lots of power.
     
  18. johnnydough

    johnnydough n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NZ
  19. Mr_D

    Mr_D Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    509
    Location:
    Southern California
    Power draw depends on the camera, but my 2MP Dauha Starlights use about 3w during the day and 6w with the IR is on, if I remember correctly.