Problem After BI Disk Upgrade

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Q™, Sep 8, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. IAmATeaf

    IAmATeaf Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I can’t see that option in the screenshot?
     
  2. CCTVCam

    CCTVCam Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    196
    Not head of it but anything that relies on MS System restore points for references (from wikipedia), I would steer well clear of. One of the beauties of Storage Craft's solution is you can do hardware independent restores so you can change your entire pc and restore to new hardware and you won't encounter any driver or windows tied to hardware issues. That said, it can be complex as corporate level.

    I wouldn't expect there will be hidden files in clips themselves, but once you start moving program files around you can encounter a whole load of issues. Not the same as moving database folders.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2019 at 5:14 AM
  3. Tinbum

    Tinbum Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    UK
    upload_2019-9-11_10-5-30.png
     
    IAmATeaf likes this.
  4. Q™

    Q™ IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4,384
    Likes Received:
    3,044
    Location:
    Megatroplis, USA
    So, apparently there is no GLOBAL setting whereby one (1) switch turns off "Store alerts as hi-res files" for all cameras running on the Blue Iris server instance?
     
  5. Tinman

    Tinman Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    449
    And once he did a repair/regenerate with the new drive location the clip.dat file went kerplunk. Time to save what clips you want and start over fresh.
     
  6. Tinman

    Tinman Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    449
    I'm going to play with this on my demo BI5 and see if indeed this was the culprit, It may not be possible to change drive letters without losing your alerts.

    Update test:
    I did move my clips (about 736mb) to a different drive and then started BI and set the clips and archiving to that new location AND drive letter. The alerts were still showing, but of course when I clicked on one it gave me:

    Annotation 2019-09-11 080419.jpg

    Then I did a repair/regenerate of the DB which then gave me this:

    Annotation 2019-09-11 080648.jpg

    I then moved the clips back to the original drive and changed settings in Bi again and did another repair/regenerate and then the alerts came back.

    Annotation 2019-09-11 080842.jpg

    So it appears that you must keep the same drive letter.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2019 at 9:17 AM
  7. Q™

    Q™ IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4,384
    Likes Received:
    3,044
    Location:
    Megatroplis, USA
    Allow me to Qomplicate this a tad more...
    • Upgraded this BI4 server to v5.025 (x64) today
    • Prior to the upgrade process the paths were as previously stated...
      • New: N:\ Blue Iris\New (The new WD12TB Drive N: )
      • Stored: S:\Blue Iris\Stored (The old WD6TB Drive S: )
    • All the historic alerts have now returned
    So FUQIT...I'm good.

    smiley29.gif

    Q out!
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2019 at 2:23 PM
    Tinman, bob2701 and th182 like this.
  8. J Sigmo

    J Sigmo Known around here

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    856
    I've used macrium reflect free for years on many machines to clone their boot drives so I could replace or upgrade their boot drives to larger ones or SSDs, etc. It has always worked perfectly.

    I'm not sure what you read or where, but maybe it's talking about doing incremental backups or the like. But for cloning or making full images, I've never had any problems with Macrium Free.

    But that Storage Craft product sounds good for upgrading a PC itself. I've never tried it. I always end up doing a clean install of the OS with a new PC.
     
    Tinman likes this.
  9. srglassw

    srglassw Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    23
    I know, that was my point... the "Store alert images as hi-res files" is not on the Record tab any longer. It is now on the Trigger tab but the Help file still refers to it as being on the Record tab.
     
  10. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,508
    Likes Received:
    5,898
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    And the store Hi-res alerts is not turned on by default that I've seen.