Questions of camera placement and wiring

Kevman

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi,
this is my first time to install and hope you would give some advice/opinion of camera placement for a starter.

My property is very rectangular except the recess of main entrance and small enough not to worry about the distance, I guess.
Probably it may need more cameras for full coverage especially each sides, but I think I can start with 5 outdoors, 3 indoors ones for now to cover entrances for now.
Street facing side, one at Garage door (Cam A) is the main one to watch street and right side access, I guess.
Then one over front door (Cam B) is for door access, and Cam C is to cover lower level windows and the other side pass-by.
front_image.jpg
Backyard side, Cam D is for deck access and Cam E is lower level Patio door.
Also both cam is facing same side, indoor 1 and 2 to watch each door in case bypassing from the right side from picture.
back_image.jpg

main level.jpglower_level.jpg

Most uncertain thing is CAM C, which is mostly blocked by trees in front of.
I jut think if someone tries to break into the window directly, then it may help, but still not sure it's necessary or just turn to side.

For wiring, unfortunately there is no prewired cat5e or 6 since it's built in 70's and not much accessible half of attic, wiring seems not easy.
But I think I can make it if I can make 1 hole right under my office (where wifi sign is)
the problem is the side material is wood siding shingles and cannot find much tip for wood shingle siding.
How do I hide the cable? There is no enough space to put under each shingle like other siding.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
You could slide the cameras over closer to the downspouts and run out the soffit to the downspouts and down behind/next to them.

Cam A and C look like under soffit that you could go from 2nd floor downspout to that soffit and across.

Cam D and E are both next to a downspout.