Recommendations for an Outdoor Cam

saggybeans

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I'm new to the security camera scene and have been doing research and I am slowly zoning in on what I should get based on my requirements. Before I order something I wanted to ask the community for their opinions/recommendations. After doing research I have discovered that Dahua seems to be a very good choice when it comes to features, build quality, etc which has lead me to this forum.

For a bit of background, I live in Canada so it gets pretty cold in the wintertime (as low as -30 degrees C) I intend to use the camera outdoors, right in the soffit of my front entrance way, pointed at my laneway/street. The laneway would be ~8 feet away to the left and the street is about ~25 feet or so. I am getting this camera as there have been people breaking into cars at night so it is important that I get something that has very good low light capabilities. Based on my research I found the HDW5231R-ZE to be a good choice since it has the starlight feature and is varifocal capability. Having the capability to view on my phone is a must and it would also be nice to have alerts when there is movement. I see some cameras are even capable of distinguishing faces, cars, etc which would also be awesome.

Here are some questions I have:
1. What is the difference between the HDW5231R-ZE and HDW5231R-Z?
2. Will the motorized lense be an issue in Canada when it is extremely cold?
3. Is there a disadvantage of getting the turret style vs bullet?
4. What model # would you guys recommend I get? I don't necessarily need to go with the HDW5231R-ZE, is there a better model with more features you would recommend?
5. What software would I need on my PC/phone in order to view and get alerts and also record 24/7.

Thank you very much for your time, hopefully this will also help other new members who are just starting out.

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score