Recording to mac via web browser

Rick Simonton

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 1, 2019
Messages
77
Reaction score
10
Location
San Fernando Valley
accidentally purchased hikvision ip camera WITHOUT SD slot. My other two cameras have one, and i dont have a nvr or dvr, and would rather not buy one. It seems like i should be able to record directly to my macs HD Via the web browser interface. I read somwhere that it needs a dedicated partition or a dedicated drive so i added a 1T jump drive as a target. Under the configuration tab > local configuration > Record File Settings … i aimed everything to the jump drive.
But at the advanced configuration page > storage > storage management … no drives appear and nothing is settable. Did i miss something. Help! Thanks in advance!
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
14,621
Reaction score
5,627
Location
Scotland
no drives appear and nothing is settable. Did i miss something.
The Mac would have to offer it's HDD as an SMB/CIFS or NFS share over the network.
Is this how you configured the Mac?

I read somwhere that it needs a dedicated partition or a dedicated drive so i added a 1T jump drive as a target.
I'm not quite sure what you mean by this. Could you expand?
 

Rick Simonton

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 1, 2019
Messages
77
Reaction score
10
Location
San Fernando Valley
The Mac would have to offer it's HDD as an SMB/CIFS or NFS share over the network.
Is this how you configured the Mac?

No, or at least i dont think so. If i can quote you…”I'm not quite sure what you mean by this. Could you expand?”

I'm not quite sure what you mean by this. Could you expand?
I had read online somewhere (a dubious source for sure) to record an ip camera to a computers internal drive, the drive had to have a partition dedicated to the camera or a dedicated external drive dedicated to the camera. I choose the latter solution by adding a usb thumb drive to usb port on the back of the mac.
 

Securame

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 25, 2014
Messages
646
Reaction score
206
Location
Barcelona, Spain
Under the configuration tab > local configuration > Record File Settings … i aimed everything to the jump drive.
That is where you configure where your web browser will be recording videos/snapshots/etc. So, when you are accessing the camera over the web interface, and take a snapshot or record a clip, it will save it there.

It has nothing to do related to where the camera by itself will be making recordings.
 

Rick Simonton

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 1, 2019
Messages
77
Reaction score
10
Location
San Fernando Valley
h
OK, and did you configure the Mac to offer that as an SMB/CIFS or NFS share for access by the camera as a Net HDD target?
Thank you for the hint. I feel im close but not quite there yet. I believe on a mac its called “file sharing”. I turned on file sharing and selected the jump drive. I chose to share using smb protocols. It gave me an ip address and file path, though the does not include the name of jump drive, so i suspect that this is incorrect. Just the same i added this to the cameras web interface at configuration > advanced > storage > nas, along with … mounting type set to smb, added the admin user name of the computer along with the password. Hitting the test button gave me the following error message: “failed to connect with test server”. It did save the configuration, so i think im close.

Going to the storage management tab, i now have a new line in the device list: hdd number 9 (though its check box is grayed out) capacity and freespace are listed as 0, status is offline, type is NAS, property is R/W, and progress is blank.

i think im very close. All suggestions are welcome!
 

Rick Simonton

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 1, 2019
Messages
77
Reaction score
10
Location
San Fernando Valley
That is where you configure where your web browser will be recording videos/snapshots/etc. So, when you are accessing the camera over the web interface, and take a snapshot or record a clip, it will save it there.

It has nothing to do related to where the camera by itself will be making recordings.
thanks for clueing me in. I guess i was confused by the word “recordings”. In any case i dont think i hurt any thing, or did I?
 
Top