IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

Replacement Setup

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
4,743
Reaction score
2,610
Hello

My next task is the deadfall task of running the cables, i have a 6 metre extension to get arround as i want to stick a camera on one of its corners, whatever way i look at it, i am going to have a large amount of ethernet cable on show, in conduit stuck under the front eves and in conduit running along its sides, as flat roof, no-where to hide it :(. Any way, the corner has a standard exteria light on the wall and i could mount the camera next to it or on the eves above, so slightly guarded from the direct light by the eves. What would be the best location please as expecting right next to the light is a no go ?

Please see picture attched.

Suggestions welcome. Cabling going to upstairs bedroom at the front and this is the back, already have ethernet going in from the exteria back to front where extension reaches house, no no new holes needed.
Is there a hollow space between the ceiling and roof? If so it is possible to cable through that space.
 

Night-Owl

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
47
Reaction score
12
Hi mat, their will be a hollow space in theory as the roof struts go back to front, i would have to take that black plastic facia down to validate that though and the builder put it up with nails and silicone instead of scews, so i would reck it if i tried to remove and devorce would soon arrive as it is only 6 months old :).
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
4,743
Reaction score
2,610
Hi mat, their will be a hollow space in theory as the roof struts go back to front, i would have to take that black plastic facia down to validate that though and the builder put it up with nails and silicone instead of scews, so i would reck it if i tried to remove and devorce would soon arrive as it is only 6 months old :).
I used grey PVC electrical pipe and slide it through the space between the ceiling and flat roof - worked well, and while I did have to put a hole in the ceiling at few spots ( ends ), it was easy enough to patch.

Just sharing it as an option, as at first I was thinking conduit around the house - but this worked better.
 

Night-Owl

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
47
Reaction score
12
Hi mat200

Thanks for sharing. if only the builder used screws and not ridged nails.

I will advice how i get on when i attempt to run cable in the next couple of weeks.
 

Night-Owl

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
47
Reaction score
12
Hello

I have bought the lorex system now and have a few concerns / issues

1) The lead from camera is very short and the weatherproofed connection means the need of at least 20mm hole, maybe more, its likely the connection will be in the wall as the lead is too short to go through a cavity wall.

2) The system is demanding a firmware file via USB where the manuall implies it should except via the internet, the internet connection is up and running. ?

I have it plugged in the same 1080P TV as the Swann at the moment and have setup one camera only, next to the Swann, so i can see what 6 extra mb's are getting me. The picture is clearer but darker, i expect i can adjust some settings for that. Also via the app the picture is appalling, unless you hit the enhance toggle and all is fine then, i am assuming the enhance ups the resolution ?.

This is my findings etc so far.
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
7,688
Reaction score
6,180
Location
Evansville, Indiana
Hello

I have bought the lorex system now and have a few concerns / issues

1) The lead from camera is very short and the weatherproofed connection means the need of at least 20mm hole, maybe more, its likely the connection will be in the wall as the lead is too short to go through a cavity wall.

2) The system is demanding a firmware file via USB where the manuall implies it should except via the internet, the internet connection is up and running. ?

I have it plugged in the same 1080P TV as the Swann at the moment and have setup one camera only, next to the Swann, so i can see what 6 extra mb's are getting me. The picture is clearer but darker, i expect i can adjust some settings for that. Also via the app the picture is appalling, unless you hit the enhance toggle and all is fine then, i am assuming the enhance ups the resolution ?.

This is my findings etc so far.
You will have many options to go through and set to your liking.
1-this is normal, you either mount on a junction box and put the connection in the junction. Or mount to your soffit, and put the lead in the soffit.
Be sure to properly water proof that connection either way.

2-Proably settings you can make in the NVR, and in the cameras directly.

I'm sure @mat200 will be along and have better answers for you. I'm not familiar with this system.
 

Night-Owl

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
47
Reaction score
12
Thanks looney2ns

I dont like the apps either, zoom level is bad etc. Noticed mat200 implied you can use gDMSS Lite, i downloaded this and am guessing i need to sign up for the Lorex DDNS to get it working, give it my NVR ip address or plug the cameras into the router and give the ip address of the individual cameras ?.

Night vision is OK, better resolution but not range than the swann, i am trying to see 60 metres in pitch black, so maybe stretching it a bit :), i expect i will have to get one of the starlight cameras for this particular view.
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
7,688
Reaction score
6,180
Location
Evansville, Indiana
Thanks looney2ns

I dont like the apps either, zoom level is bad etc. Noticed mat200 implied you can use gDMSS Lite, i downloaded this and am guessing i need to sign up for the Lorex DDNS to get it working, give it my NVR ip address or plug the cameras into the router and give the ip address of the individual cameras ?.

Night vision is OK, better resolution but not range than the swann, i am trying to see 60 metres in pitch black, so maybe stretching it a bit :), i expect i will have to get one of the starlight cameras for this particular view.
You should be able to use the gDMSS lite. While you are on your home network, you have no need for the DDNS.
Take baby steps. Connect only ONE camera until you get the hang of things.

I suggest you forget about gDMSS for now, connect a monitor and a mouse directly to the NVR. Use the direct method to get the basics setup first directly on the NVR. Keep it simple for now.

Here is a link to manuals, and other help.
Lorex Support - How to, troubleshooting and product support | Lorex
 

Night-Owl

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
47
Reaction score
12
Thanks looney2ns, already got live view via the other 2 lorex apps. Will have a play with other app tomorrow :)
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
4,743
Reaction score
2,610
Hello
..
1) The lead from camera is very short and the weatherproofed connection means the need of at least 20mm hole, maybe more, its likely the connection will be in the wall as the lead is too short to go through a cavity wall.
HI Night-Owl,

This is standard with PoE cameras, and thus why I've become a big fan of junction boxes - for the boxy 4K bullet cameras in the Lorex kits iirc PFA121 or the one Lorex sells

2) The system is demanding a firmware file via USB where the manuall implies it should except via the internet, the internet connection is up and running. ?
iirc According to the Lorex specs they got the NVRs to auto update if connected. I have not seen many mention it on another thread so IDK what the working status is with this.

For the Dahua OEM version I have I use a USB stick.

I have it plugged in the same 1080P TV as the Swann at the moment and have setup one camera only, next to the Swann, so i can see what 6 extra mb's are getting me. The picture is clearer but darker, i expect i can adjust some settings for that. Also via the app the picture is appalling, unless you hit the enhance toggle and all is fine then, i am assuming the enhance ups the resolution ?.
..
Yes you have a LOT of tuning options, so please do play with them and see what others here are using.

Have fun playing with it, and definitely get the junction boxes if you like - the PFA121 ones are really nice.
( for turrets there's a new one by Dahua PFA130E )

On mobile apps - feel free to try 3rd party apps. Note - there's always some sort of compromise unless money is not limited.
 

Night-Owl

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
47
Reaction score
12
Hello,

I plan on putting a camera up on the back, i can put it up, next to a standard exterior light, just on top or about 2 foot higher than the light on the fascia. Pic enclosed. Can you advise the best place please as concerned about glare from the light, so I would assume the fascia is best place ?.

Thanks.
 

Attachments

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
4,743
Reaction score
2,610
Hi Night-Owl,

I would test either above or below it and see how that works.
( reasoning: Do not want the camera to actually have the light bulb in the view - otherwise expect poor night images )
 

Night-Owl

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
47
Reaction score
12
Hello,

I have had one of these cameras set up for a few days now as a test against the 2mb Swann, I have it connected to a 4K TV and set up to Record etc in 4K. I am not overly happy with the picture, its very pixalated, I am getting more details in those pictures than the Swann but I would expect perfection for a 4K camera, I tried playing with the settings, if i turn of 3D Noise Reduction, its a mess, if i turn on WDR i get a brighter picture at night but adds pixalisation. At day when no IR etc, picture is still far from perfect. Is a perfect picture from a CCTV camera nor viable, i.e will always be pixalated ?. I also note even when logging into the cameras directly, i cannot see an exposure setting where i can up the settings to allow better details of moving objects and lastly remote access, fine via cloud but despite setting up port forwarding etc, I have not been able to get remote access from non flir apps i.e gDMSS Lite, tinycam etc. Not sure if its a bad router (Virgin Superhub 3) or something else, works fine from apps when within network i.e indoors but not when disconnected from internal network, hence expecting port forwarding issue.

Any guidance please, am I expecting too much from these cameras ?

Thanks.
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
7,688
Reaction score
6,180
Location
Evansville, Indiana
How do you have it connected to the TV?
Which stream are you using?

Port forwarding is huge security risk.
VPN Primer for Noobs

What are you using to access the cam directly?
Use Palemoon browser, SmartPss or Chrome with IE-Tab extension installed.
 
Last edited:

Night-Owl

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
47
Reaction score
12
Hi,

The TV is connected via HDMI
The TV says its receiving 4K image, with regard to stream, i understand you have sub and display, both set to max which is only 720P on display and less on sub, but i assume the TV should be getting the full 4K as connected directly and I set this under settings.

To access the cam i simply type the IP of the cam as all cams are plugged into poe switch, which is plugged into router and the NVR plugged into router only, which means everything gets its own IP.

I understand port forwarding is not good and looking into VPN.

If someone has this kit and advises that the pic is 100% perfect, no pixalisation etc, i wiull have to look again, all cabling is Cat6 FTP, so should not get any interference etc.
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
4,743
Reaction score
2,610
Hi,

The TV is connected via HDMI
The TV says its receiving 4K image, with regard to stream, i understand you have sub and display, both set to max which is only 720P on display and less on sub, but i assume the TV should be getting the full 4K as connected directly and I set this under settings.

To access the cam i simply type the IP of the cam as all cams are plugged into poe switch, which is plugged into router and the NVR plugged into router only, which means everything gets its own IP.

I understand port forwarding is not good and looking into VPN.

If someone has this kit and advises that the pic is 100% perfect, no pixalisation etc, i wiull have to look again, all cabling is Cat6 FTP, so should not get any interference etc.


FYI - in case you get a decode error when attempting to have multiple 4K streams up: a number of people have reported that on NVRs with multiple 4K streams they sometimes run into decode errors when attempting to view multiple 4K streams on the NVR the NVRs processing power may get exceeded - note that priority is given to recording - so that is not an issue.

This article covers this well:
Over Decode Ability Explained for NVRs
 

Night-Owl

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
47
Reaction score
12
Thanks mat200,

I would say that if the NVR cannot cope with 8 * 4K streams, it is 'not fit for purpose', as these are 4K Cameras and this is the NVR that came with them, but perhaps I am being over board on the matter, I have not encountered this issue yet, so wont be returning it for this :)

I am more concerned about the quality coming from the cameras, I would expect a perfect picture, no pixalisation etc, after all, if you watched a 4K stream or took footage from a 4K Camera, you would expect it to be perfect, but perhaps CCTV is not the case ? or perhaps the picture I am seeing on the screen is being downgraded by the DVR and I should try connecting to it directly to see if their is a difference ?

Thoughts welcome.
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
4,743
Reaction score
2,610
Thanks mat200,

I would say that if the NVR cannot cope with 8 * 4K streams, it is 'not fit for purpose', as these are 4K Cameras and this is the NVR that came with them, but perhaps I am being over board on the matter, I have not encountered this issue yet, so wont be returning it for this :)

I am more concerned about the quality coming from the cameras, I would expect a perfect picture, no pixalisation etc, after all, if you watched a 4K stream or took footage from a 4K Camera, you would expect it to be perfect, but perhaps CCTV is not the case ? or perhaps the picture I am seeing on the screen is being downgraded by the DVR and I should try connecting to it directly to see if their is a difference ?

Thoughts welcome.
Hi Night-owl,

I believe you should be able to see one or more 4K streams on the live view - not certain about the settings you need to address. You may want to pop over to the threads on similar 4K systems and see if others have answered this question. ( I do not recall an answer other than checking that you've got the right video stream being displayed )

Re: Fit for purpose
Depend on your definition - did it successfully record all cameras - yes. ( minimal requirement in my book )

Simply put - if you want to save money on a kit you will not find a NVR which can easily decode 8x 4K streams for live view.

One option people are doing if they want to view more 4K streams than the NVR can live view is to get another system for display ( see the article for reference )
 

Night-Owl

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
47
Reaction score
12
Thanks mat200

I have only set up one camera at the moment, i would only be viewing 1 stream at at time anyway in 4k, even when all are setup, so its not a major issue.

It is the quality of the picture that matters significantly if your buying 4k, you would expect a excellent image. At the moment i still see alot of pixalisation. Tomorrow i will look at it via the camera direct from a computer to see what happens as maybe its the nvr processing thats causing this.

Its hard to know what to expect as only had the 2mb swan cameras before.

Thanks again
 
Top