Review: EZVIZ DB1C

murada

n3wb
Joined
Jun 25, 2022
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Location
Spain
I have a DB1C and I followed the method to see the advanced settings in EZVIZ Studio but I don't have the option. I also have a chime and in this case I see the option.
Is it is only for the DB1 that the option is hidden?
See in the left side my DB1C and on the right my chime.

1666215271410.png
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,997
Reaction score
15,606
Location
USA
I have a DB1C and I followed the method to see the advanced settings in EZVIZ Studio but I don't have the option. I also have a chime and in this case I see the option.
Is it is only for the DB1 that the option is hidden?
See in the left side my DB1C and on the right my chime.

View attachment 143250
Check this out from our DB1 101 Troubleshooting Tips:

EZVIZ PC Studio; If you are unable to see NETWORK/ADVANCED Buttons here is your fix - alexdelprete
 

mamra

n3wb
Joined
Feb 14, 2022
Messages
3
Reaction score
4
Location
Cy
Anyone managed to flash the hikvision ds-hd2 firmware on db1c?
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,997
Reaction score
15,606
Location
USA
I bought one way back, last year when it was $50. I still have my DB1 variant (LaView) installed. If it dies I will install the DB1C...
 

cadavre

n3wb
Joined
Dec 1, 2022
Messages
1
Reaction score
1
Location
Poland
I've found this tutorial on YouTube on how to connect DB1C and Chime separately to Wifi and use both – RTSP and Chime sound at the same time:


The guide says to configure both doorbell and chime via Ezviz app, then remove it, add into Hik-Vision and – without linking – enable chime sound from doorbell.

This particular step says about it:

Zrzut ekranu 2022-12-1 o 22.48.05.png

The problem is when I tap on the "chime image" nothing happens – I cant get into screen shown above. Anyone have this figured out?

---

I also found this post, but can't really get enough details:


Does this mean I can connect doorbell via chime (as access point) and get RTSP running somehow?
 

Derpus

n3wb
Joined
Aug 14, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
Location
Canada
You saved my day with the sd card flashing..
I tried to upgrade the db1c with the hikvision ds-hd2 firmware but i had the red circle around the doorbell button and reset button didn't work.. I reflashed with the sd card ezviz latest firmware and doorbell came back online with previous settings!!
Bummer the ds-hd2 firmware didn't flash cleanly and you had to recover via SD card. I too am waiting with baited breath for an ONVIF firmware for these EZVIZ DB1C units.
 

Derpus

n3wb
Joined
Aug 14, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
Location
Canada
FYI, in my troubleshooting with EZVIZ with my DB1C, apparently you can update the firmware using the sdcard using .dav files such as the most recent CS-DB1C-A1-1E2W2FR_V5.3.0+build+220802.dav
:
Code:
To upgrade firmware, you will need to prepare an empty SD card, a SD card reader and PC.

1. First please insert the SD card into the SD card reader and connect the reader to your computer

2.  save it in your SD card(When saving, please change the file name to "ezviz.dav")

3. Power off your EZVIZ device, take out the SD card from the reader and insert it back to the camera

4. Power up device again, and then wait for 3min it will complete the update process automatically.

(If the SD card will remain in the camera, please take it out and do remeber to delete the firmware before you install it again.)
I remember updating the FW on my unit this past year via the Batch Config tool. I'm guessing I did it with a DAV file but not 100%. Can anyone confirm DAV files are viable to flash via the BatchConfig tool or are they are format that's only used for recovery via SD card?

If this 220802 is the latest firmware, are there release notes for the various FW revisions somewhere by chance? I'm a year behind on my firmware so maybe I'm a couple releases behind.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
3,295
Reaction score
9,968
Location
Charlotte
Glad the price dropped. Now I don't feel quite as bad with my DB1C residing in the local landfill.
Frequent Wi-Fi dropouts are inexcusable. Happens on both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands. Wireless access point is less than 20 feet away, with one insulated wall (exterior wood clapboards) between them.

When the HELL is Hikvision gonna make this with a POE connection?!? It's clear their wifi reliability is pure BS.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,997
Reaction score
15,606
Location
USA
Frequent Wi-Fi dropouts are inexcusable. Happens on both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands. Wireless access point is less than 20 feet away, with one insulated wall (exterior wood clapboards) between them.

When the HELL is Hikvision gonna make this with a POE connection?!? It's clear their wifi reliability is pure BS.
This may be our answer:

 
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
3,295
Reaction score
9,968
Location
Charlotte
This may be our answer:

Nope. Not Reolink. No way, no how. But thanks for suggesting an alternative.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
5,997
Reaction score
15,606
Location
USA
Nope. Not Reolink. No way, no how. But thanks for suggesting an alternative.
I hear ya, many here were on the same page with the bitter taste of Reolink but I see some are now considering it. I went ahead and ordered one, it was cheap enough, I am just bench testing it presently. It does have most of the features we all want. Also, not App or cloud dependent. I am not changing my DB out anytime soon since it is still working great for me. Plus running the cable may turn into quite a challenge for me. But who knows, so far I am liking it...
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
3,295
Reaction score
9,968
Location
Charlotte
Frequent Wi-Fi dropouts are inexcusable. Happens on both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands. Wireless access point is less than 20 feet away, with one insulated wall (exterior wood clapboards) between them.

When the HELL is Hikvision gonna make this with a POE connection?!? It's clear their wifi reliability is pure BS.
Well, that wasn't SO bad. It was INCREDIBLY HORRENDOUS. :smash:
485 signal loss events in the just one day.

That's over 20 drops per hour. Inexcusable. I've emailed support@ezvizlife.com but I know I'll only get the runaround.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
3,295
Reaction score
9,968
Location
Charlotte
Have you tried turning OFF Send RTSP keep-alives

View attachment 150004
I'll happily give it a shot. Anything that helps will be an incredible improvement.

I'm not certain which program is less reliable:
  • EZViz wifi setup app for the DB1C
  • EZViz Studio maintenance app for Windows
I just found in EZViz Studio the firmware apparently enabled EZViz Cloud P2P. :screwy:
I know for a FACT that I would NEVER enable such an option.
 
Last edited:
Top