Searching for plug'n'play camera system with smart features (vehicle, face, animal detection)

urosbe

n3wb
Reaction score
I am a web developer with quite a few years of experiences but completely newbie when it comes camera security system ;) When I was building the house, I prewired UTP cable to all the spots where I would like to have camera installed, so PoE cameras are the ones that I am searching for.

What I currently have and why I am disappointed?
I have already bought 4 Dahua IP dome cameras 4 years ago. Without any experiences I have bought some fancy unnecessary expensive models with high megapixels and AI features with SD cards in each of the camera (without NVR), because nobody told me NVR should do the main work with AI and camera megapixels are not such important. The big disappointment is also camera body type - I did not know that dome style cameras are completely useless at night.

What I need?
From experience I have learned so far I would like to find the whole system (5-6 cameras + NVR) that works together well and camera types should be turret (not a fan of bullet ones because whole house style is minimalism). I probably do not expect too much in the middle of 2023 that camera sends me notification on my mobile phone when it detects vehicle or unfamiliar face. And not the spider or spy that is showing off in front of the camera at night.

What I like?
I like simple plug'n'play system that works. For example I had option to try Netatmo Presence outdoor camera in the past. All I had to do is to wire power to the camera, install the app and the camera started to detect vehicles, persons and pets thru the window, because I had it on the table in the office just for test. My Dahua camera detected 1 person (yes, just one!) in 4 years and that was me on the ladder when installing the camera so my face was 30cm from the camera :) I simply didn't know how to setup the camera because web interface was to complicated for a newbie.