Setting up Hikvision camera

Doug Gloff

n3wb
Reaction score
So I am new to the Hikivision cameras been using the Airsight cameras for a long time but wanted something a little better as far as picture quality goes. I have the Hikvision DS-2CD2032F-IW I plan on running it via a CAT6 POE. I have a Wifi Texas 10/100 24v/ 60w POE Switch (http://find-a-poe.com/product/8-Port-Passive-PoE-Switch/). How do i get this setup to run off the POE? Do i need and adapter? The instructions a very lacking for this camera.

Thanks

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
So I am new to the Hikivision cameras been using the Airsight cameras for a long time but wanted something a little better as far as picture quality goes. I have the Hikvision DS-2CD2032F-IW I plan on running it via a CAT6 POE. I have a Wifi Texas 10/100 24v/ 60w POE Switch (http://find-a-poe.com/product/8-Port-Passive-PoE-Switch/). How do i get this setup to run off the POE? Do i need and adapter? The instructions a very lacking for this camera.

Thanks
Welcome to the forum. You dont need any other adapter. Just go from the switch to the ethernet port on the camera.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Okay I did this and the camera wont power on when i plug it in.
How long is your cable run? is the cable home made?
Also, you noted the 24v model, is that what you have? or the 48v?

Doug Gloff

n3wb
Reaction score
I am just testing it now so the cable is maybe 6 feet long. I have the 24v model

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

Doug Gloff

n3wb
Reaction score
What is the best way to set up this camera to record to a NAS drive? I got it plugged in now with just a 12v adapter and network cable.

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
What is the best way to set up this camera to record to a NAS drive?
Plenty of posts on that topic.
Decide on NFS or SMB/CIFS as the file sharing protocol.