Reaction score
I am new to BI and so far have it up and running good
But is there a way to have it make smaller file sizes
I'm at about 16gig a day per camera
Which will only give me about 8 days worth of continuous recording

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
What cameras are you using? You can lower your frame rate or bitrate on the camera. Also depending on the format your record to you can change the quality settings in blue iris under the record tab > file format and compression.... I would not do any of these things but rather buy a large drive...storage is cheap. Also you might consider motion detection.

jason.berna

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Agasio 612's
It's a 500 gig drive with 3 cameras 48 gigs per 24 hours for all 3 at 10 frames a sec in the BI recording format
Does that seem right

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Yes, that is about right...that camera (a foscam clone) uses old mjpeg compression which is not very efficient. There is not much you can do but buy more storage. When you buy new cameras buy hikvision or dahua with h.264 compression...they are the same price as the agasio but 100 times better....You can record 3mp in h.264 with less space than your vga 0.3mp camera can in mjpeg. Is there a reason you are not using motion detection?

jason.berna

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I had foscam wireless and got these that are POE cause te have auto brightness which I like
What's a good deceit price poe camera that uses poe for outdoor

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
any dahua or hikvision in 2-3MP..

I have 4x 2-3MP@15fps Dahua's recording 24/7 to a 4TB drive; I can fit ~2 weeks.. might upgrade your storage before your cameras, 500GB wont get you very far recording 24/7

jason.berna

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Yea I have a 2tb I wanna put In tonight
I just bought a new pc with windows 8 and know nothing about windows 8...I'm a mac guy