smart pss NVR crashes when viewing recordings

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by knighty, Jul 13, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. knighty

    knighty n3wb

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi

    I have a server running smart pss (and very little else)

    I can (normally) remotely search recordings and start playing a recording, but if I click a couple of different points on the time line (checking different time of the same camera) the NVR program crashes, everyhting else on server runs fine

    the same thing happens if view the recordings on the server itself

    server is...
    i7 K875 @2.93gig (stock)
    16gig ram
    win7 64 bit
    onboard gfx (GeForce GT 610)
    240gig SSD for os and smart pss install
    approx 40tb storage over 16drives (2*6tb, 9x2tb, 3x2tb, 1x3tb, 1x1tb)

    system runs about 3% cpu use (with me remoted in), 1.8gig ram used - no noticeable change when I'm trying to view recordings

    smart pss version... DH_SmartPSS_ChnEng_Win32_IS_V2.02.0.R.171124.exe

    6x3mp, 4x4mp cameras - a lot more cameras to be added soon (already bough cameras so will have 32 when they're all installed)

    I'm recording on all cameras, full quality, 2fps, 24/7, no motion detection etc.



    I'm lost and don't really know what to do or how to move forward from here

    any help/ideas really appreciated
     
  2. knighty

    knighty n3wb

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. c hris527

    c hris527 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    NY
    Edit, you are running the smart pss NVR program ?
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2018
  4. bigredfish

    bigredfish Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Location:
    Florida USA
    I have an on again off again similar issue with the latest version of SmartPSS. I run it as a stand alone viewer on my laptop, it allows me to quickly monitor 18-20 cams on 4 different systems. When open, occasionally for no apparent reason, my home DVR reboots. Sometimes frequently, say 3 or 4 times in an hour, other times I can have it open like I did last night for 3 hours and never a problem. No consistency, but having studied it for a while, there's no doubt in my mind it's SmartPSS rebooting the DVR.
     
  5. c hris527

    c hris527 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    NY
    I was confused with his post, I don't think he has a DVR/NVR, I think he is running PC-NVR built into Smart PSS. I have a 16 Channel NVR that I remote into that will freeze when viewing multiple cams at the same time. I think it might be network related in my case.
     
  6. bigredfish

    bigredfish Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Location:
    Florida USA
    Yes you're right... actually I confused the issue, apologies.

    But still I wonder if there is some commonality? in each, SmartPSS is crashing/rebooting the machine... Not just a freeze but actual reboot/crash..the hard drive has no data for the couple of minutes it takes to reboot each time...
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2018
    c hris527 likes this.
  7. knighty

    knighty n3wb

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, yes I'm running smart pss with built in nvr on a PC

    it used to be ok, I could jump around footages as much as I liked no problem, one camera or all of them

    now it makes no difference if I watch one camera or lots, it crashes the nvr program :-(
     
  8. c hris527

    c hris527 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    NY
    I look back at somebody that had issues like you did. Make sure you delete all your temp files, running PCNVr will chew up your hard drive space real fast with temp files. Also with all the windows updates rolling around as of late you might want to make sure all hardware drivers are up to date. I would check your crash logs too to see if that could give you a clue on whats going on in windows event viewer.
     
    fenderman likes this.
  9. knighty

    knighty n3wb

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think... I'll format the system and start fresh

    I had the older version of pass NVR installed before and upgraded

    older version only supported 2tb hard drives so had to partition the drives into loads of smaller partitions, upgraded to make things easier

    I'll report back when I'm done :)
     
  10. knighty

    knighty n3wb

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    formatted and reinstalled.... it's exactly the same :-(

    I'm at a total loss here :-(

    any ideas anyone? - I'll try anything to fix this
     
  11. c hris527

    c hris527 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    NY
    What is the encoding on your cameras? If you are running H.265 you might try to change it back to H.264. Older versions of smart pss cannot see the h.265. Just throwing that out there.
     
  12. knighty

    knighty n3wb

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    H.264H

    I've got 9 cameras running right now, used to have 4 on the old system (different pc) and playback wasn't a problem then

    all recording works 100%... and all the footage is there.... just when I scan through it the NVR program crashes on the server end

    I swapped to a server case running drives through a SAS controller instead of sata in the old system


    I used to split drives into 2tb lumps to run the old nvr program... upgraded to nvr 3 to use larger disks, running 6 4tb drives in raid right now, all drives tested good, read/write speeds around 400mb/sec (tested while system was recording)
    (drives out of raid makes no difference)

    I'm sure the system had the same problems with the older nvr program.... guess I'll have to test again

    I'll set it to record to the OS ssd instead and see if that makes any difference... problem is every time I'm making changes I'm losing all my recording :-(


    I'm at a total loss here... I'd go back to the old core2duo I used to run but there's no spare pcie card to run the sas controller... and I plan a lot of storage so not much other option than sas :-(


    p.s. all cameras set to max resolution (some 3mp some 4mp), 20fps, constant bit rate, bit stream 8192Kbps, 50iframes

    makes no difference if I playback multiple cameras or just one
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2018
  13. c hris527

    c hris527 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    NY
    Now you say this is happening remotely ? If so what kind of client PC are you using? Quote "I can (normally) remotely search recordings and start playing a recording"
    I know in my world remote clients will crash if underpowered or a crappy network connection when it comes to smart pss. For all the hair pulling you are doing have you ever considered moving up to Blue Iris ?
     
  14. knighty

    knighty n3wb

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's always the server end that crashes, makes no difference if I view remotely or on the server itself

    recorded to the OS ssd instead of the raid array but it mane no difference, server side crashed when I clicked around through recorded time


    it seams to be ok if I click one time and view the footage, if I pause it and give it a few sec before I click another time it normally works ok... to me that shouts storage problem... but all drives error check ok, benchmarks come out good, and recording to the ssd plugged into the motherboard makes no difference :-(

    I've thought a lot about blue iris and gave it a quick try, but I don't have intel hd acceleration (or whatever it's called) - I'm adding cameras pretty regularly, I'll have 30 by the end - smart pss uses naff all CPU time... I assume it's passing the work off to the cameras so they write direct to the drives over the network?

    I don't need any motion detection etc, just recording 24/7
     
  15. knighty

    knighty n3wb

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    any ideas anyone?

    sorry to bump the post, I'm a bit stuck here


    was going to swap the old system into the new server case but old system doesn't have a spare pcie slow for the sas raid card :-(

    think might have to buy a pci gfx card for the old system so i can use it like that, seams a shame to stick the i7 on a shelf tho :-o
     
  16. bababouy

    bababouy Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    961
    Location:
    almost to the bottom
    It looks like this is the Black version off Smart PSS. We were running this version for 6 months or so before we moved over to DSS Pro. Try uninstalling and reinstalling the version that you have, or try going back a version from the newest one, Template:SmartPSS - Dahua Wiki The configurations may not convert, so make sure you write everything down before you make changes. Sometimes just reinstalling Smart PSS would fix glitches like this. This program is notorious for downloading and leaving some things out.
     
  17. knighty

    knighty n3wb

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem with older version and with this version... even formatted system and fresh installed newest version, same problem :-(

    I can only assume it's a hardware incompatibility problem? - I thought/guessed maybe it didn't like the sas raid controller... but recording/playback to the OS ssd plugged into a motherboard sata card produced the same problem :-(

    then I thought/guessed maybe it's a network problem... but the same thing happens viewing on the system itself

    running win7 64bit, but I'm sure old system was too?

    1024x768 resolution is a bit small on the server (for the server cabinet keyboard/screen combo) - but I didn't think this would effect remote playback?


    I'm totally lost here :-(

    running a mem test right now (it's going to take a while)

    system as a whole never crashes... just the pc-nvr program
     
  18. c hris527

    c hris527 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    NY
    I have re-read this entire post, what you are describing is the same thing that happens to me on a certain network I have a NVR Installed on. I use Smart PSS to remote into the NVR and I have issues with playback when trying to access a few different cams recording at the same time. What will happen when the NVR crashes it will disconnect from the network and have to be restarted. Just a note, I can also remote direct into the NVR and I get the same results. Crashing the NVR when viewing through Smart Pss and through the web GUI. I know my client PC and Smart pss is working fine because I use it all the time on other NVR's with ZERO issues. That being said, I went to great lengths to prove it was a local network issue. I actually went to the site and brought a switch with me and a laptop and took it off their network and put it on my own. I had zero issues and ran it hard for about a 1/2 day..NO NVR crashes.
    I did bring this to the local network admin and he did not give a ratts ass(he hates me anyway) and blamed it on the NVR ..ok I was like whatever. In this case I proved it was a network issue and NOT a client or NVR issue. When his boss calls me and bitches about not being able to view video I just bounce it back to his IT guy and blame the network. All the hardware and switches are 100 Mbps, All the other networks I have ZERO issues with are 1 Gig.
    Have you tried a different network card on that server? Updated all your drivers? Does really sound like a hardware issue.
     
    looney2ns and fenderman like this.
  19. c hris527

    c hris527 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    NY
    I re read your last post, its happening locally too, however you can try to run windows in diagnostic mode and kill services, antivirus and anything else not related to Smart PSS and see what happens. what do your windows logs say? Do they leave and clue in event viewer?
     
  20. knighty

    knighty n3wb

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    nothing stood out in the event logs, so I cleared them

    just flicked through recorded footage, lasted a bit longer thing time, sometimes crashes really quickly

    4 new logs under security service "microsoft windows security auditing"

    17:00:21 an account was logged off
    17:00:21 an account was logged off
    17:00:06 an account was successfully logged on
    17:00:06 an account was successfully logged on

    under system logs, source "service control manager"

    16:59:43 the winhttp web proxy auto-discovery service entered the running state
    16:19:17 the application experience service entered the running state

    sometimes when the nvr program crashes it doesn't error out, it just stops working, I have to end task it and start it again


    I've spend hours and hours trying everyhting I can think of, I'm tempted to format again and try an install of 32bit win7?


    EDIT:

    also... playback is't that smooth it's a little jumpy/slow, I'm not sure if it was the same playing back from the SSD (but it still crashed)

    running crystal disk mark 1gig test I have
    sequential read speed 328mb/sec
    sequential write speed 400mb/sec

    so Im pretty sure they're more than fast enough? (that was while the nvr recorded to the disk)
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2018 at 1:47 PM