Stand alone NVR or PC Based NVR - What are your favs?

stevef22

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hello all,

Is there one feature rich NVR/DVR you like to use? or... just use a PC with blue iris?

I know it depends on situation. But If I had 5 clients with 8 IP cameras each. How would you set this up? Give them each a standalone NVR/DVR?

Heard good things about this NVR
http://www.amazon.com/Synology-Network-Recorder-NVR216-9CH/dp/B01999U9AS/ref=sr_1_8?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1457453992&sr=1-8&keywords=network+video+recorder

But you guys probably have your favs as well. Total newb here. Thanks a bunch! :peaceful:

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

ruppmeister

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Man that Synology is really getting up there in price. Yes, it appears to include the camera licenses, but still, no disk. You can easily get a computer for between $350 and $500 that can handle 8 cameras and then some. Throw on Blue Iris for another $60 and be done with it.

Or get a brand specific DVR of your liking for a whole let less $$. This may have less features than a BI setup, but to each their own.

justadude

n3wb
Reaction score
In my opinion a standalone NVR has an advantage for ease of use, especially if you are setting up cameras for people who are not technically inclined. Blue Iris + PC is a fantastic choice for "do it yourself" people who like to tinker and customize.

I assume you're installing cameras for clients? If so I would try to go the foolproof route and use a standalone NVR to just set it and forget it.

As far as NVR brands go I couldn't tell you, but one of the first brands I would look at is Hikvision.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score